Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 22, 2010 / 8 Iyar 5770

The limits of patience

By David Broder



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Recently, I wrote a column commending President Obama for his long-range vision and for the patience to wait, beyond his own term if necessary, for the rewards to appear.

The column really irritated a reader in Maryland, who unloaded on Washington Post ombudsman Andy Alexander, who sent the complaint on to me.

"Andy," the reader wrote, "one way for us to gain more insights into the minds of Post news section reporters is to read the columns of former news section reporters. I found today's column by David Broder to be very revealing. Broder is excited about how patient our president is, and how this will be good for the future.

"A more skeptical mind might see how this 'patience' is emboldening Iran to build a highly destabilizing nuclear threat that will be bad for the future of our country and bad for our world. A more skeptical mind might see how piling debt on debt on debt by the federal government is not a victory for patience, but rather will lead to a massive burden for the next generation and declines in our standard of living. But at least the USA will be less exceptional compared to the rest of the world.

"Patience is not going to lead to better health care for our people. Rather, a virtually inevitable doctor shortage and various other problems created by government controls will bring our system down to a much lower quality and long waits for mediocre care. But at least more people will have health care insurance.

"If these are goals to be applauded," he concluded, "then I understand where Broder and his fellow travelers are coming from."

Letter from JWR publisher

Aside from the "fellow travelers" phrase in the last paragraph, which struck me as a cheap shot redolent of 1950s-style anti-communism, I really admired the letter and thought the writer was making valid and important points.

I do not agree with him that health-care reform will inevitably have the bad effects he suggests, but I think it's fortunate that before it becomes operational in 2014, two Congresses will have time to strengthen its cost-cutting provisions.

We are far more in agreement about the threat of debt than my critic wants to acknowledge. I have written so often, to the point that some readers probably resent it, about our calamitous deficits and the inevitability of entitlements cuts and revenue increases.

But unlike the Maryland man, I'm prepared to acknowledge Obama's argument that it makes no sense to raise taxes overall while the economy is still struggling to recover from the worst recession in more than 60 years.

As for Iran, the letter coincided with the report in the New York Times that Defense Secretary Robert Gates, a remarkable truth-teller, had sent the president a memo raising an alarm at the absence of a clear U.S. strategy to deal with the mullahs' drive for nuclear arms.

Gates was reported to have raised directly with Obama the risk that has been much discussed — that foot-dragging by China and Russia will weaken and delay any sanctions regime imposed through the United Nations and leave the United States and its allies with a dreadful choice between armed conflict or acceptance of a nuclear-armed Iran.

The administration and Gates himself promptly tried to walk the story back, but it's clear there was such a memo and the interpretation of its undisclosed language was not far from the meaning the Times attached.

In truth, I had heard another senior administration official, dining with a small group of reporters two weeks ago, say that in his judgment, within a year to 18 months, after the diplomats have played out their hands at the United Nations, we will face a showdown with Iran.

What then of the patience for which I praised Obama? The only answer can be: It has its limits. Patience is not sufficient in itself to solve problems. It can only contribute to making policy a success by fitting it to the right timing.

In neither of these crucial issues do I see an advantage for Obama rushing the action, let alone reversing it, as the Marylander seems to suggest on health care. But patience alone is not enough.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



To comment, please click here.


Archives



© 2010, by WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles