Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Finding Love and Peace in Our Battle against evil

By Rabbi David Aaron



How odd that a violent act of killing would be rewarded

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Israelites were seduced by the Moabite women to serve the idol of Peor. When Zimri, the prince of the Shimonite tribe, publicly takes the princess of Midian to be with her sexually, Pinchas, the grandson of Aaron, kills them both and thereby stops the plague against the people. For this zealous act G-d rewards him with a covenant of peace.


How odd that a violent act of killing would be rewarded with a covenant of peace. Here, however, lies the secret to how much love and peace there should be at the core of a true battle against evil.



“ And as for the slanderers, may they not have hope and may all the evilness in one moment be lost. And may all Your enemies be quickly cut off and all the deliberate sinners, quickly uproot, break down, crush and subdue, quickly in our time. Blessed be You, YHVH, who breaks enemies and subdues deliberate sinners.”

                       — From the daily Jewish prayer, Amidah

This blessing is the famous 19th benediction of the Amidah even though the Amidah is called the Shemoneh Esrei, which means "18". The sages added this blessing later in Jewish history, when many Jews were collaborating with the Romans who were ruling the country at that time.


It is difficult to imagine that when the sages first composed the Amidah, there was no prayer that G-d protect us from our enemies. After all, the Jewish people have had enemies since the beginning of our history. As we recite in the Passover Haggadah, "In every generation they come upon us to destroy us?" Why, then, did the sages not include this blessing from the very beginning?


At that time in our history, there arose a new enemy — the malshanim, slanderers. These were not Non-Jews. They were Jews who were undercover apostates and slandered their fellow Jews to the foreign government ruling in Israel, causing disastrous problems for the community. There were so many malshanim at the time that almost every Jew was suspect. The Talmud recalls that if a cantor leading the prayer service began to stutter at his recital of this blessing, he was immediately suspected of being an enemy of the people.


COMPASSION ON THE ENEMY
The sages and prophets of the Great Assembly wrote the Amidah with great precision. Therefore, it was a critical matter to choose the right person to write this additional blessing. After serious deliberation, the Great Assembly chose Shmuel HaKatan, "Little Shmuel."


STIMULATION AND INSPIRATION

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes "must-reading". Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Why couldn't any one of the sages write this request? Is it really that difficult to express the desire to wipe out our enemies? Yes, it should indeed be difficult to express such thoughts.


Shmuel Hakatan was known in Pirkei Avos (part of the Mishna called "Ethics of the Fathers") for saying, "When your enemy falls, do not take joy." Someone who finds any joy in destroying another person could not have written this blessing with the necessary precision. Shmuel HaKatan had the right intention — love for G-d, not hate for people. Through the teachings of Shmuel HaKatan, we learn that a Jew should want our enemies to repent and ascend higher in their service to G-d. And if indeed war is unavoidable, as was the case of Pinchas, then it must be waged with the deepest sense of love for G-d and not hatred for people.


We now can see the tremendous love for G-d this blessing required. Anybody can write a blessing that expresses the desire for our enemies to fall. The words "kill them," "destroy them," "wipe them from the face of the earth," come to mind. Only someone with the purest of intentions — solely out of love for G-d, and without any hate whatsoever — could have the precise attitude required to express the ideal desires of generations of Jewish people.


A close reading of the blessing reveals its accuracy. It does not say, "Slice them into little pieces" or "torture them." Rather, it describes a corrective process — tikkun. We first ask G-d to cause the "malshanim" — to give up all hope that their diabolical scheming will have any impact. Then, "within one moment all evil be lost from the earth." Note that it does not ask for "rashaim" (evil people) to be lost, but "rishah" (evilness).

In his book Midos Haraaya, Rabbi Avraham Yitzchak Kook explains that whenever we pray that G-d deal with our enemies, we never pray for the destruction of the enemy himself, only his evilness. We do not want to see people die unless there is no other way to stop them from doing evil.


The continuation of the prayer is provocative: "and may all Your enemies be quickly cut off." Cut off from where? Why doesn't it say, "Kill them"? There are many ways to define the phrase "cut off." It can mean end their supply, discontinue their support or cause them to lose their footing (and perhaps even their funding), among other things. A careful reading of the Amidah reveals that we do not want our enemies to be killed, just defeated.


In the end, we ask G-d only to subdue them. But the repentance of our enemies is a long process. First, they must be uprooted so they have no grounding. Then they must be broken down and humbled. We could pray, "May You be abundantly manifest as one who kills and destroys our enemies." But that's not how the blessing ends. Instead, it exhorts, "May You be abundantly manifest as one who breaks enemies and humbles deliberate sinners." Clearly, this blessing was written with tremendous love and sensitivity, in the hope that evilness — not evil ones — will be cast from the earth.


Indeed, Judaism teaches that we must not ask for the sinners to be lost from the land, but rather that the sins be lost from the land. We learn this lesson from the Talmudic story of Bruria. The wife of great sage Rebbe Meir, Bruria was well known as a Torah Scholar a woman possessing vast Torah knowledge. The story goes that a man shares with her that there is someone in his community who is harassing him, and he is praying for G-d to destroy him.


"You fool!" she admonishes him. "The verse in Psalms states, "May the sins be cast off from the land" — not the sinners. In other words, we pray that sinners repent, not die.


There is a remarkable Midrash that relates that Pharaoh, the one of the greatest enemies of the Jewish people, suffered from leprosy. His advisors tell him that bathing in Jewish blood can cure the ailment, so Pharaoh orders his men to slaughter Jewish children for this purpose. Another Midrash, however, explains that after the exodus from Egypt, Pharaoh repents and gets a new job as king of Ninveh. In the story of Jonah, G-d commands Jonah to go to Ninveh and tell the people there to repent. When Jonah finally arrives with G-d's command, the king says, "I know this G-d. Let us not start up with Him." All the people of Ninveh then repent.


Judaism has such a forgiving attitude toward our enemies that the greatest thing we can do for them is to pray for their repentance. This is an incredible testimony that we are supposed to want those who kill us to repent form their evil ways rather than die.


SUMMARY AND PARAPHRASED
This prayer should be said with tremendous love for G-d and not hate for people. It expresses our hope that evilness — not evil ones — be cast from the earth; that G-d's enemies and those who sin against Him be subdued and repent.


And as for the slanderers, those who vilify their fellow Jews to foreign governments, may they not have hope and therefore, stop scheming against us and may all the evilness (not the enemy himself, but only his evilness) in one moment be lost. Motivated by our love for You and not because of personal vendetta we ask: and may all YOUR enemies be quickly cut off from any backing or support that sustains their wickedness so that they will quickly capitulate in defeat; and all the deliberate sinners, quickly uproot, (cause them to lose their footing and falter) break down, crush and subdue, (progressively humbling them towards total surrender and repentance) quickly in our time. Blessed be You, — May You be abundantly manifest G-d, who breaks enemies and subdues deliberate sinners.


The more we believe that G-d is always breaking enemies and subduing sinners and we sincerely want to free ourselves from their threat, the more the blessings for love and peace can penetrate and become manifest in our midst.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment on this article, please click here.







TO ORDER RABBI AARON'S BOOKS, CLICK ON TITLES BELOW

Click here to order 
this 
book Click here to order 
this 
book Click here to order this 
book Click here to order this 
book

JWR contributor Rabbi David Aaron is the founder and dean of Isralight, an international organization with programming in Israel, New York South Florida, Philadelphia, Los Angeles and Toronto. He has taught and inspired thousands of Jews who are seeking meaning in their lives and a positive connection to their Jewish roots.

He is the author of the newly released, The Secret Life of G0d, and Endless Light: The Ancient Path of Kabbalah to Love, Spiritual Growth and Personal Power , Seeing G0d and Love is my religion. (Click on links to purchase books. Sales help fund JWR.) He lives in the old City of Jerusalem with his wife and their seven children.







© 2012, Rabbi David Aaron