Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec 27, 2011 / 1 Teves, 5772

2012 New Year's resolution: Time to take out the trash

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If you're anything like me, holidays are a double-edged sword. Did we remember everyone? Did we help the poor? Are we Okay with G-d? Were our gifts to each child and grandkid what they wanted? Were we too cheap? On the other hand, did we spoil them into future Occupiers with an opulence that'll make 'em dependent on others or -- worse yet -- us for the rest of our lives? Our collective guilt rose as we damned our guts, livers and sobriety.

Yep, it's the time of the year for self-loathing, a perfect condition to be infected by the RESOLUTION ABSOLUTION.

I have a humble suggestion. Let's muster that perfect storm of guilt, glut and Grey Goose into a focused quest to solve our one collective problem; the disposal of the government of President Barack Hussein Obama and the rest of the country- destroying Socialist/Communists throughout the fruited plains.

If the 2012 election outlook for our tyrants-in-charge is as bad as Karl Rove indicates, they may opt to put us into such incivility via occupiers, race riots or that "civilian force" Obama insisted we needed, he may try to cancel elections, Arab-Spring style. It's called Martial Law and the President has the power to implement it.

Then, our new law can be tested. The most recent defense bill allows our President to jail people he suspects of terrorism without due process AND for as long as he wants.

To avoid any kerfuffle or legitimate revolution, I would suggest Obama take the country up on his three-year-old prediction of a "one term proposition," if he failed to fix the economy.

I advise strongly not to hold your breath waiting for our AIC (Arrogance in Chief) to call it one and done.

Below is the solution du jour. I think, though rather basic, it'll stick to your ribs once you work off your holiday spare tire.

Landfill — NO RECYCLING ALLOWED!

According to Esther Crain in Cosmo, these are the five things to focus on to achieve your resolution(s)


  • Focus on one resolution only — Let's not be multi-taskers. Forget the diet, for if Obama is reelected there will be food shortages. Forget the NFL, NBA, the NCAA Tournament, and MLB — at least until November. If you must watch something, watch bowling. It'll the only time you can spare. (Bada BOOM! )

  • Be Specific — We need to defeat Democrat/progressives and replace RINOS with some staunch conservatives in all levels of government — from theWhite House to the Congress to the State Houses right down to your hospital boards and PTAS.

  • Make it a team effort — As my favorite NBA Celtic's coach, Doc Rivers says, "If you don't play as a team you can't win! " Obama will have his team in place and a $billion plus to lie to the American People. That means we MUST ENGAGE the opposition with the truth every time they lie both in the media and online. Plan on being VERY busy! They have no record to run on, so they must shift the blame.

  • Commit it to paper — I'm doing that with this column. Email it to your friends, print it and attach to your refrigerators. Look at it daily! We only have 'til November to save the USA.

  • Let yourself mess up once in a while — I disagree with this, except to note that we are human and will make mistakes—but remember this (I'm adding a number 6.)

  • NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER LET UP AND YOU'LL NEVER LET YOURSELF DOWN! If things aren't looking good, remember; VICTORIES OFTEN OCCUR WHEN YOU SEE NO WAY TO SUCCEED, BUT REFUSE TO GIVE UP ANYWAY.


Every vote counts!

If we follow the above plan, 2012 will be the year of real hope and change — not the Socialistic, racist tyranny that we've seen unfold — foisted upon us by Obama in 3 1/2 years.

Don't let yourself, your spouses, your children and grandchildren down.

WE ARE AT THE CROSSROADS OF OUR FUTURE!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles