Donate to JWR

Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 1, 2008 / 4 Kislev 5769

Let's be honest: We invaded a country that didn't attack us

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | There's no doubt about it.


We were viciously attacked by suicide murderers on our soil. Almost 3,000 thousand Americans were massacred that day. Some were forced to jump to sure deaths from plane slammed burning structures. The entire country was shocked, amazed, outraged, and unprepared.


Resolved as one to go to war against the criminals that perpetrated this atrocity we readied the nation for legitimate retribution.


So what did our president do?


He declared war on the fanatic suicide murderers, and then proceeded to attack the wrong country! For years our forces were spread thin, suffering more casualties than imaginable.


The conduct of the war included a multitude of blunders.


Our equipment was inadequate. Many soldiers were killed due to faulty armored vehicles. Attacking erroneous targets at wrong times without the troop strength needed, we were our own worst enemies.


Further, the USA held enemy combatants in prison for years, most of whom had no legal recourse.


Our propaganda was worthy of a banana republic dictatorship.


And talk about the other guys being vicious?! We intentionally killed thousands of innocent civilians via bombings from the air.


The leaders of our armed forces were so lame that even when the war was going well on one front, we couldn't close the deal on the other front.


The surge against our attackers was finally opted for by the decider in chief.


Yeah, we disposed of an evil dictator who committed mass murders and was a threat to everyone in his immediate surroundings. However, it was highly speculative that he was a threat to us. In fact, the weight of the evidence shows that he didn't want any part of war with the USA, and given adequate notice, would have taken steps to avoid it.


True, our victory over his country, years earlier, didn't lead to peace. He did everything he could to stir resentment of us and rebuild his armies in violation of the ceasefire his country signed.


He wasn't consulted about those heinous attacks on us by the suicide murderers.


Was that enough to attack him and his country? It sure was for the president and the majority in congress.


We had an Axis to grind


President Franklin Delano Roosevelt could have made a deal to just attack Japan and stay the heck out of the European theatre. Hitler would have welcomed it. The president could have saved approximately 300,000 US soldiers and cut our involvement in WW2 by years.


In retrospect, it was a necessary war and one that may have saved to world.


When Libs assault you with the "Bush lied, people died" slander, show 'em these stats.


The US military lost more soldiers in the first 5 years of the Clinton Presidency than the US military lost in the first 5 years in Iraq. (Numbers from CRS report to Congress pdf)


Also, according to Antiwar.com, from 3/19/03 to 11/25/08 (5 years, 5 months) US combat deaths were 4,207.


From 12/07/41 until 8/15/45 (3years 9 months) the US suffered 408,200 armed forces deaths. (From WW11, Nation by Nation)


Never let the weeds control the garden


Just today, the democratically elected Iraqi Government voted to approve a deal with the USA to end our Troop presence by 2011.


That means we'll be leaving in victory, not defeat, with a decimated al-Qaeda, as well. We'll have an ally and an example for the rest of the world, especially Iran.


Yesterday terrorists attacked in Mumbai, instead of Miami, and Somali pirates recently kidnapped ships off the African coast, vs. San Francisco bay.


At least now we can say that after 9/11/01 attacks, our president succeeded, against all odds, in protecting the US mainland from certain terror attacks.


Now THERE'S a legacy George W. Bush can be proud of, and an example for President-elect Obama.


Let it be known: It doesn't pay to attack the USA.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles