Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 23, 2005 / 21 Mar-Cheshvan, 5766

Save a (human) turkey

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert to Democrat Representatives, "GOT SPINE?"


In a dramatic, but predictable turn of events, House Democrats left poor ole' ex-Marine hero, Rep. John Murtha dangling by his Marine sword. Murtha inexplicably called for us to abandon the war in the Middle East and unilaterally yank our troops out. Thus a message was shouted that must have brought cheers from the monsters that cold bloodedly murdered 3,000 innocent Americans in one day. I don't question Murtha's bravery, but his position is dangerous to the very troops he wants to protect.


Repubs have been remarkably quiet over the Plame, "Bush is a liar", "Bush is stupid", "the war is immoral", Scooter indictments, "Cheney is evil", the polls show Bush has lost the American people, drivel…until about two weeks ago. I suspect their silence was intentional. In 1974 Ali leaned on the ropes for seven rounds of devastating blows by a bigger and stronger George Foreman in the Rumble in the Jungle. He hardly threw a punch, until Foreman, suckered by his own arrogance, and Ali's reluctance to fight, exhausted him. The champ put George to the canvas in seconds.


Hastert and the Bush administration couldn't have roped a Democratic dope better than Muhammad did to Foreman.


A WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY WON'T OPEN ITSELF


Ever the wrestling coach, Speaker Hastert, saw an opening and used the Dems' clumsy lunge to score a take down and pin 'em to the mat. Dems tried to get up, but kept slipping back to the mat cluttered by their own slippery ridiculous diatribes.


Republicans called for an immediate, put up or shut up, pull-out or support the troops' referendum. The trap was set. Snared and not brave enough to saw off their limbs caught in the Repub jaws of death, the Dems committed mass political suicide one vote at a time, exactly how the pachyderm reps knew they would. When the screaming, huffing and puffing and political posturing was over the Dems were buried up to their propaganda holes in fertilizer of their own making.


The vote was 403-3, an overwhelming demand to stay the course. The premature celebrations of the terrorists and Soros, Sheehan, and Moore, have been interrupted. Reality has set in. Terrorists know that the only way to beat America was to get the Democrats to subvert their own country. Back to the drawing board, boys.

  • Have we forgotten that 11,000 brave American Soldiers died on D-day in 1944?

  • Have we forgotten the 19,000 US Military lives that were taken in the 4 week Battle of the Bulge?

  • Have we forgotten that we lost 407,000 US troops in the 4 and ˝ years of our combat in WW2?

  • Have we forgotten that we lost 58,480 soldiers because German subs were attacking our commercial ships in 1917? That loss took place with semi-modern weapons in the 1 year and 7 months we fought in WW1.

  • Have we forgotten our sacrifices in the Revolutionary War where we lost 5,000 troops?

  • Have we forgotten our war to emancipate slaves and stop the South from destroying the Union? Civil wars never are, as this one cost America 200,000 soldiers.

  • Have we forgotten the Korean War where we lost 53,000 brave troops?

  • Have we forgotten our brave soldiers in Vietnam and their determination to keep Communism from our doorsteps? 58,000 US soldiers lost their lives there and the rest were abandoned and abused by their own government and many fellow US citizens.


We are literally standing on the graves of our dead troops who have enabled us and hopefully the children of our children to reach for the stars.


This country will do whatever it takes to defeat those that are dedicated to our annihilation. The debate must become one of how to win the war, VS how soon we can surrender.


So take home a Democrat this Thanksgiving and pray with them that our troops keep safe and BEAT THE TERRORISTS!!! THEN we can bring them home.


After the vote last Friday, it won't be safe for the Libs to show themselves outside until all our gobblers are hunted and consumed.


Hey, you could entertain your Democrat Reps with a supplement to Thursday's football games. Just replay last Friday's debate and vote during the commercials!


Better a wrestling match, than a turkey shoot.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles