Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 25, 2013/ 21 Mar-Cheshvan, 5774

Enhance your life --- become a great customer

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I've been in the restaurant business for 42 years. I know the importance of impressing customers and taking care of legitimate complaints immediately. My cell phone number is prominently displayed in the dining area and drive-thru of my six restaurants.

What I've found out over the years is that while it's important to value my customers, it's equally imperative to be someone else's valued client. In fact, I dare say, I'm the best customer of several establishments I regularly partake. At least I can get them to admit that in public without badgering them. I take great pride in this.

Benefits:


  • Friendships-especially those in like-kind businesses.

  • Advice seeking from each other.

  • Sponsorships--in my case my five-year-old radio program is packed with about 15 sponsors who I trade with.

  • Fun--I have a blast in their establishments with them and their employees.

  • We help each other out in good or bad times.


Here are a few of the establishments I'm talking about:


  • The Renaissance Airport Hotel in St. Louis. I had to pass by this property on my way to work at my first restaurant as a 22-year-old. It had a golf range attached to a carnival. I would often hit a bucket of balls after work. Soon after I moved about 100 miles away, I began staying at the hotel, making friends with salespeople, bell captains, shuttle drivers and concierges. When I married in 2005, four of these friends attended as guests. Every time I go there I'm treated as family. I just went to their 25-year employee reunion where I reconnected with many of my old friends there, especially 90-year-old George, Morris, Larry and the now head of group sales for the downtown St. Louis Renaissance, Becky. I was the only customer invited.

  • Matt's Steak House moved to their present locale on the outer road of I-44 in Rolla. The owner, Matt, worked for me as a 16-year-old in one of my restaurants. He sponsors my radio show and his restaurant is the official location of the Dave Weinbaum Show Prep Meal, where I shall be headed after I submit this column. Matt and his wife Cindy have six kids and serve the best aged steaks IN THE WORLD. One of my companies paved their lot. I bring all out of town guests to Matt's and have yet to have even one not tout their outstanding food and service.

  • Lukas Liquors in Ellisville MO. I believe red wine and an occasional vodka martini are good for one's health. While I can't remember what drew me in to this super store, I was shocked at its size and world-wide selections. They also provide you with a trained wine expert to accompany you and help pick out great wines at values that weren't available for about 300 square miles. If the owner, Gary is in, he takes me wine shopping personally. He has become a friend and one of the few sponsors of my show from the St. Louis Metro area.

  • The Jewish World Review, something I had only read—until I found one of my quotes at the top of one issue. Buoyed by my unexpected success, I sent a column in at 3:00 one February morning. I tested my ability to get my op-eds published in something more than my website and the local papers. Binyamin Jolkovsky, the Publisher, Editor and Owner shocked me when he responded within minutes that he didn't need any more writers who would just report the news dryly. He thought I had wit enough to be, if not over the edge, dangling on its razor-sharp precipice. So I included the nasty jokes I had redacted from my previous submission and my published history took a huge jump when the Boss, (Binyamin) published my first JWR column on February 7th, 2005. We've been friends since. I've visited him in Brooklyn where he spent the day with me and my wife on a tour through Flatbush and the Borough.




Never shake a hand when you can hug a friend

Only space prevents me from talking about the other great friends who I met as a customer. They have endured my persona through the years and have saved me in bad times, comforted me through depression and enjoyed our mutually cutting wits along with a few successes.

I look forward to many more years of expanding relationships with these friends, spending time and money in their establishments and helping them as much or more as they have already come to my aid.

These are the folks who, when I call for help at 3:00 AM, don't hang up— at least not until they hear who it is.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast