Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 9, 2007 / 27 Tishrei 5768

Don't know much about history...

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In a letter to the editor regarding my “Don’t lose your head: vote for Osama,” article in the Rolla Daily News, retired Professor Tom Yusha Sager, implied that I didn’t have the history knowledge of a 2nd grader.  My son, Aaron, called me and was furious.  “Dad,” he said, “how dare him?  I know for a FACT that you have at least a fourth grade knowledge of times past!”  

What I do have is some comprehension for reading.

Yusha, if you understood what I wrote, you would know that I wasn’t talking about fights within the same religions. Otherwise I would have inserted the fact that the biggest killers of Muslims….ARE Muslims.  

Also a professor of your stature and reading acumen knows that I don’t lump all Muslims together either in words or context.

Otherwise I wouldn’t have said, “More important, it’s time that “moderate” Muslims shoulder some of the load by publicly denouncing the miscreants that have hijacked their religion.”  Professor, how can a man of your academic achievement have missed this?

Your Holocaust examples are equally off point.  Jews weren’t given the choice to convert.  In fact, even those that had converted to another religion were murdered just because of their Jewish “past.”  

The one good thing about the Ottoman Empire is at least everyone got to put their feet up.

I agree that Jews and Christians lived reasonably well for a long period of time under Islamic rule, even though they were regarded as second class citizens.  In fact, the Inquisition of 1492 saw Ottoman Sultan Bayezid II, send his fleet in to save Muslims and Jews from that Spanish/Christian siege.  The Ottoman Empire is no longer, lasting from 1299 to 1922, shortly after the Ottomans allied with Germany in WW2.

Since then, many Muslims chose to side with Hitler against America in a deal to rid the Middle East of Jews.  The Grand Mufti of Jerusalem was a visible ally to Hitler.  Some Muslim countries have taken up where the Nazis left off, right up to slandering Jews generally, to claiming that somehow 15 million Jews are to blame for the suffering of 1.5 billion Muslims, right down to the goose stepping troops in Iran .  Hey, if you’re going to wipe “ Israel off the map”, you may as well do it in style.  I got this information from several websites.  Here’s one:

http://christianactionforisrael.org/medigest/may00/arabnazi.

Does that mean that other religions, including my own, Judaism doesn’t have fanatics?  No.  There are nuts in ALL faiths.  The difference between those fanatics and Muslim fanatics is that THE NUTS ARE NOT IN CHARGE as they are in Islam.   

I hear the History Channel was cancelled…too many repeats

Now let’s talk about your misquotes, taking words out of context, and your confusing choice of Quran cites. I never said “Muslims as people that think G-d wants them to kill us.”

Here’s what I said:

Country19481976
Morocco265,00017,000
Algeria140,000500
Tunsia105,0002,000
Libya38,00020
Egypt100,000200
Iraq135,000400
Syria30,0004,350
Lebanon5,000150
Yemen55,0001,000
Aden8,0000
Total881,00025,620

“For those who equate all religions with Islamofacism let me remind you:  Christians don’t murder those that don’t convert to Christianity at least not for the last 500 years.  Jews don’t murder those that don’t convert to Judaism.  Hindus, Shinto, Sikhs, Buddhists, Taoists, ad infinitum, don’t murder innocents that don’t convert to their religions.

There is no negotiating with people that think G-d wants them to kill us.  We need to fight them until they change or give up, just like the Nazis in WW2.”

Nowhere did I lump all Muslims as those that believe the above.  Throughout the column I refer to Islamofascists as the culprits, while encouraging moderate Muslims to speak out.   

More important, Yusha, why aren’t you decrying those that make Islam reflective of the conversion or die scam that is taking place today?

I also found your the Quran quotes curiously in support of my argument.  The first three you cited could and I’m sure are used by Osama and Zawahiri to encourage more genocide, not peace.  The fourth stating that “He who hurts a Non-Muslim citizen in a Muslim state, I am his adversary…” is the exact opposite of what has happened to Jews, Christians, Buddhists, etc., and others in “Muslim states.” Below is a chart borrowed from an article by Ada Aharoni showing the population of Jews in Arab countries before the establishment of Israel in 1948 and that population again in1976:

More than 850,000 Jews were kicked out, most with their property stolen, by these Arab/Muslim states. They barely got away with their lives, Professor Sager. Granted some left voluntarily for Israel or more friendly countries, but the majorities were banished in fear of their very lives.

Last, professor, you admit that there are “…Muslims who do not follow their own scripture and traditions.”, but you don’t seem to have the capacity to understand the destruction they are causing to the world.  If you did you’d be out front leading the fight against the Muslim minority that controls Islam today.

THAT was the most important point I made in my column.  It was understood by people with far less education than you.

Finally, Professor Sager, if you can’t figure out what’s going on in the post 9/11 world I have but one question for you.

What color are the clouds on the planet you’re living on?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles