Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 29, 2008 / 26 Tamuz, 5768

The homes of the setting sun

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "We can't drill our way out of this…" Pick any Dem

I may finally agree with this morsel of DNC drivel.

Since President Bush eradicated the presidential moratorium on off shore drilling, a barrel of the black oozy stuff had dropped $22 off its high, an all time record plunge.

And that's without one tiny drill burrowing one more little ole' oil well.

Yep, Dubya called congress' bluff and cajoled the Dem powder puffs to go along. Thus far congress has told Bush and the American people where they can stick their drills.

Dems in congress have ordered oil companies drill on millions of acres of barren land, and threatened to take them over. This from a Congress that can't even run their cafeteria.

Telling the American people that we must develop nuclear, solar, wind, and safe coal energy, makes the average guy or gal say Duuuuuuuuuuuh! Really?!

In the mean time just sniffing that we may release the drilling dogs where the oil is has slashed prices. With oil in the $125 a barrel range, could a congressional ban lifting lower it to $75, maybe $50? Seems logical, yet Dems deny it as easily as Barack brushes off the Surge.

American voters may have been born at night, just not last night

The American people are distancing themselves from these loons. This congress is rated lower than whale feces. It's single digit 9% approval rating (Rasmussen Reports July 8th), does not bode well for the majority nor its' arrogant amateur candidate Barack Hussein Obama.

I'm so frustrated, I could sing!

It's time for this weeks' karaoke special, my personal favorite, "The House of the Rising Sun" by the Animals. This song aired on LPS throughout the 60's fruited/flyover plains.

Every fall afternoon, our Evanston freshmen football team gathered in a locker room so old and dank, we called it the dungeon. We sang, standing in mid-teen male unison, a band of bros in various stages of pre and post shower attire (down girls!).

We performed daily, in celebration of survival of another collision filled, bloody October rampage. Our rhythm and range were worthy of American Idol. I can see the making of "History of the High School Musical Part One." Mel Brooks we're beggin' you. Write the script already!

In the mean time, our dysfunctional, power abusing congress has impelled me to bastardize one more standard. Forgive me purists and Animals. One-two-three, Everybody!

The Homes of the Setting Sun
Taken From the Animals


There are two homes in Washington,
the senate and the reps,
They've been the ruin of many girl and boy,
The righteous and the schleps.

My mother was a litigator,
She sued her way to wealth,
My father was a senator
A politician by way of stealth

Now the only thing a senator needs
is a camera and his mouth,
And the only time he's satisfied
is when insulting the prez from the south.

Oh mother, tell your children,
Not to do what he has done,
Waste your lives in sin and misery
In the domes of the setting sun.

Well he's got one hand out for bribing,
The other hand on the train,
Ain't no way he's driving,
'til gas comes down again.

Well there are two homes in Washington
the senate and the reps,
They've been the ruin of many girl and boy,
The righteous and the schleps.

I dated a bank teller. She was sensitive to change

As an average taxpaying, payroll making, small American businessman, the recent drop of the price of gas has change jingling in my previously lint filled pockets. Now there's even some money that folds amongst the extra nickels and dimes.

Just think of how much lower the price of gas might go if the Democratic congress removes there heads from their lower orifices, and eliminates their ban on offshore and Anwar drilling.

The American people are talking to you.

How about lowering yourself and do your job…for a change?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles