Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 23, 2012/ 5 Menachem-Av, 5772

The 'I didn't write this column,' column

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | As everyone knows, business owners didn't create their own businesses, but relied on the Native Americans to shoulder—oops, sorry. I inadvertently channeled my inner squaw from senate candidate and apparent spiritual advisor to the President, Indian poser, Elizabeth "Buffalo Dung" Warren. There must be something about the use of old Indian hunting and travel paths that crisscrossed the fruited plains. How many of us who have drive-thrus in our restaurants should owe more taxes because of these original paths—some of which came under the purview of the government for highways?

Seems others are infected with that kind of logic. Our President has reiterated that ideology to the rest of us entrepreneurs, business owners and dreamers. Barack preached, "…If you've got a business—you didn't build that. Somebody else made that happen."

My parents used to take me to target practice — thank G-d they were lousy shots

I think either Obama's on to something or on something. You know that ole homily, "…The hip bone connected to the thigh bone, the thigh bone connected to the backbone…" Although, one wonders how Obama came to the same conclusion as Buffalo Dung Warren.

That may be the kind of theory that one contemplates while munching potato chips and Cheetos in a car so full of smoke it would make a Mexican gang-banger buy a gun from Eric Holder and rob it. Thanks for the revelation that unlike what you've accused Romney of doing, you've already admitted to committing numerous felonies. Maybe, Mr. President, if you come up with the names of the drug dealers you bought your coke from, as Mark Levin has suggested, your case to have Romney reveal whatever you think incriminates him as a felon, beyond what the law requires might be relevant.

But again I digress.

A window of opportunity won't open itself

My biggest break, unlike many liberal and minority babies, came when I was born alive. I'm grateful to my mother for not aborting me and my father for not leaving me in the wild to fend for myself--even though I gave him many reasons to do so. He also paid for my college at a bad time in his life when my wrestling scholarship to Denver University fell through the abyss. DU, or as I lovingly call it, Duuuuh disbanded the team for budget cuts—probably because as a private institution they were under too many federal regulations and tax obligations.

I became a small business owner soon after my then father-in-law, Van Morris convinced me that it would be a good idea to come in with him and his many partners into the restaurant business. As things worked out, I spent three years managing restaurants with a little ownership thrown in for good measure, often having to work those same seven days a week.

That was over 40 years ago.

Three years into the business, the franchisor I was involved with offered me a store of my own in Mid Mo that was turned down by all existing franchisees. I jumped on it, surviving while many didn't. Jimmy Carter's big government ruinous interest rates and inflation almost killed my small business, but I survived and thrived in spite of it! Boy, was I happy to see Reagan!

As to the old Indian parable that it wasn't me or my employees who created my business, but the infrastructure, protection and other niceties provided by the feds, I have three comments.


  • Those roads, electrical grids, teachers policemen and sidewalks were funded almost exclusively by the very people Obama and Buffalo Dung have demonized, business owners.

  • As someone who never participated in Capitalism, never having run as much as a lemonade stand and never having to make a payroll, Dear Leader doesn't know the first thing about what it takes to make a business succeed.

  • The worst result of Dear Leader's comments is the murder of ambition of those who look to him for leadership and are told that the best way to live is to cheat on taxpayer-funded welfare and food stamps. Sadly, many of those people are in minority communities. I'd say it was a crass attempt to buy their votes as long as they sell their soul to Obama and his ilk—but that's just me.


I have it on good authority that if Obama wins a second term the Pledge of Allegiance will be changed to: "I pledge a grievance that brought our flag of the Progressive Nitwits of AmeriKKKa and to the kingdom of Barack Hussein Obama; one third-world country under the UN, with malice and poverty to all."

America! TIME TO FIRE THE LIAR!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles