Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 10, 2009 / 18 Tamuz 5769

Palin passes: Breaks press' full court press

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "When you come to a fork in the road, take it" — Yogi Berra


When Sarah Palin resigned as Alaska's Governor, you'd have thought she confessed to having Muslim roots in three Islamic States while apologizing to the world for the atrocities committed by America.


OOPS — I'm getting my stories mixed up with our president — silly me.


My psychiatrist diagnosed me with multiple personalities. I was beside myself…and so was I.


Unlike Sarah, the liberal press and a few conservatives could have been diagnosed with multiple personalities. The Sybil wannabes were filled with hubris as they spewed against the Palins. The newsies looked down their noses at the spectacle of this independent leader with conservative family values, doing what's right for her husband, children, grandchild, state and in the long run, her country.


As the American people are turning aghast and against our smooth talking Hypocrite-in-Chief (a new poll came out just today in Ohio with a 49% approval rating, down 13 points from just a month ago), Sarah Palin angst has drawn most of the oxygen from the media and pundits alike. If it weren't for Michael Jackson's passing, Palin would have drawn even more fire. The press hasn't yet figured out that we have a president who by stealth or inability is playing opposite policies with his job and our future.


The lead dog must face the blizzard first


There hasn't been a VP in our history who has been savaged like this after losing.


Let me take a stab at an explanation:


Most people have seen Mel Brook's 1974 comedic classic Young Frankenstein. Cloris Leachman plays Frau Blucher, the evil looking though benign castle-keeper. Every time her name is mentioned thunder explodes, lightning crackles while horses rear and whinny, horrified by the mere mention of her name.


It was rumored falsely that "Blucher" closely resembled the German word for glue.


I have it on good authority from my relative in Nome, Nanuck Weinbaum, that the words "Sarah Palin" means "Dems must pay taxes" in Eskimo.


Now I understand the outrageous revulsion to her name. It's the only plausible explanation.


Want proof?


Go up to a lib and say, "I want you to help get Sarah Palin elected president in 2012." Then let me know what his reaction is. However, you may want an EMT team standing by.


The little ditty below came to mind:


THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SARAH…


…that makes liberals nuts.
They hear her name and rant and rave, like a serial putz.
Braying snorts at her failure to abort.
Her large family an anomaly to their secular port.


It seems unfair to play 40 million against one,
But that's never bothered liberals,
To them it's ultimate fun.

Sarah won't cooperate with their fatal trap,
refusing to take their daily scorn,
She fired under deep attack


Libs they cannot take it.
A conservative fighting back?
What happened to that Caribou Barbie we nailed as a hack?

What a run we had with the infraction of the day.
Palin was on the ropes. She could not afford to pay.
She upped and quit in a speech of fate.
"Sorry boys, I've moved the game to the lower forty eight."

So Sarah passed the ball to a man of her liking,
Now she can travel like a conquering Viking.
Giving speeches making friends, writing books-
Tying up financial ends.

There's talk about her running for the prez in two thousand-twelve.
After all how much time can she sit upon the shelves?
The libs will froth venom and some right-wingers too.
They know plans to keep her down now have them sad and blue.

'Cause Sarah is unburdened with belt philosophy.
She learned her common sense on her daddy's knee.
Her mind's not cluttered with the mentality of DC
For she'll have the final say,
come her judgment day.

The moral? Visit friends on your turf, enemies theirs.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles