Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 4, 2008 / 1 Tamuz, 5768

Will Do Stand Up Comedy 4 Food

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I love America.


Seems the far left hates the USA.


Sure it ain't perfect. Right now oil is exploding, markets imploding, and bank credit eroding.


Still, I disagree with my negative friends on the southpaw fringe. Compared to all other countries they could have escaped to, I'm thrilled my family sailed from Odessa, Russia to place roots on the south side of Chicago. I'm sure it was like "Fiddler on the Roof" only with kvetching, not singing.


Those that fail to shepherd the lambs tend to want to bar-b-q them


While the far left apologizes for us, they seek to deny our opportunities. They look for central government to take care of us from before birth to taxing us beyond the grave.


The far left encourages us to abort our children. They insist on taxing away our incentives to succeed, invent, and try and fail and try again…until we succeed. When they grab our cash for the general good they mismanage it and tax us even more.


Remember LBJ'S Great Society? How'd that work?


Heck, they can't even run the senate cafeteria.


Progressives don't trust your freedom because it threatens their power.


They don't want debate. They want to silence us with "Fairness" doctrines, thinly disguised ruses to kick the Limbaugh's and Hanity's off the air.


Why? Because they believe they are better, smarter, more capable of running our lives based on progressive ideology. They seek to overturn the Constitution and eliminate religion as we know it, with a modern, changing philosophy.


Think I'm kidding?


The Supreme Court kept from overturning our constitutional right to bear arms by one vote!


The far left, especially our press, backs Reverend Wrong's view of America's. They believe we deserve attacks. No wonder some in the world hate us, when they see our own citizens on satellite TV and on the Net asserting their freedom of speech to denounce America.


In their own countries they dare not spew antigovernment blather. They'd risk death for them and their families. Besides, even with this false information, foreigners almost all would move here, given the chance.


Victories often occur when you see no way to succeed, but refuse to give up anyway


Here's why.


On a recent trip to New York, I had a conversation with an Iranian taxi driver. I asked him how he liked being in the USA vs. Iran. He told me he and his brothers had moved here to go into business because under Iran's system there was no hope of the good life. You had to be born into good fortune there. He proceeded to explain that his cab jockeying days were numbered. Having tried two businesses that failed he was about to try a third time. I asked what if that bombed. He said he would keep trying until he succeeded.


Never give up, never let up, and you'll never let yourself down


I feed my family with my businesses. Most of my operations are reliant on travel and are subject to gas prices. I'm also invested in stocks and have recently bought a rock and asphalt business, all subject to the whims of fuel price, government road budgets, and the balance of payables and receivables.


After toying with comedy the last 3 years, I recently opened for a real pro, funny man, David Naster. I must have done okay because even after my act my employer agreed to pay me. Even Naster bought a one liner.


So my theory is if everything goes awry, I could still feed my family with stand up.


Between gigs, like my Iranian inspiration, I could drive a cab in Manhattan.


So if you climb into a taxi and a bald, bearded, sexy man starts telling you jokes, it may just be me.


In the mean time, HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles