Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 23, 2014 / 23 Iyar, 5774

#WHENYOUWISHUPONAHASHTAG

By Dave Weinbaum




JewishWorldReview.com | Seems our government's policies have fallen to the Twitter # bug. With a daily delivery of #thiswant and #thatwant #whosbad and #whosgood, we've now solidified our Socialistic trip by riding on the roller coaster of social media.

Michelle Obama set it off with a tweet to the terrorists of Boko Haram, a known part of al-Qaeda. They had brazenly kidnapped 300 Christian girls, forced them to convert to Islam, made them pose with their new Muslim garb and threatened to sell them into a lifetime of slavery.

The First Lady published a picture of her looking demurely, while holding a sign that said, "#bring back our girls." Nice! However, Muslims have been raping, kidnapping, force-converting and murdering Christians in increasing levels for the last 15 years. The population of Christians in their ancestral birthplace of the Mideast has subsided from 20% to 5%.

As a side note, the kidnapped formerly Christian girls are all black as are the terrorists. There are several reasons why this is important:


  • It breaks the myth in this country that it was only whites who enslaved blacks.

  • Slavery in the USA is dead but in the Mideast and Africa it's alive.

  • An al-Qaeda affiliate and Muslim group is the culprit.

  • In 2011, President Obama and then Secretary of State, Hillary Clinton ignored the advice of its own FBI, Justice Department and CIA, refusing to label Boko Haram as a terrorist organization.

The question is, WHY?

Since no one is offering an explanation, I'll surmise that they were reluctant to identify Boko Haram as jihadists because they were black. Also, Obama and the Dems were grooming themselves for the 2012 election on the false premise that GM was alive and al-Qaeda was dead. It's important to remember that if the Obama Administration had dealt with the reality of this group's known terror activities; they may have weakened them with the sanctions that go along with terrorist designations.

Secretary John Kerry finally designated Boko Haram as a terrorist group in November of 2013, but there hasn't been enough time to do the Jihadists enough damage to limit their evil acts.



Now we are sending troops, drones and weapons into the jungles of Nigeria and Chad to save these girls.

After all, we know these savages are uncivilized if they didn't turn over the girls intact after being #hashtagged by the FLOTUS.

Just in case it does work and the girls are miraculously saved, alive, well and reconverted to Christianity, I have a few original quotes that could be # tagged bringing me and my brood fame and fortune:

1. Those who fail to shepherd the herd tend to want to bar-b-q it.

2. Be an oasis not a mirage.

3. If you can't excel with talent triumph with effort.

4. Be a beacon of light to those seeking a ray of hope.

5. What do you call a donkey that counts? Smartass.

6. The secret to a rich life is to have more beginnings than endings.

7. Don't forget to pack your courage for your journey to greatness.

8. Sometimes you have to stand on a dime to turn on a dollar.

9. You'll never be number one as long as you insist on being full of number two.

10. Sometimes you have to put your foot down to get a leg up.

11. Hear about the Vegas casino for seniors? It's called Seizure's Palace.

12. Victories often occur when you see no way to succeed but refuse to give up anyway.

13. Never give up, never let up and you'll never let yourself down.

14. The most important inheritance you can leave your children is the example you leave in life.

15. A father provides the paint but the mother creates the masterpiece.

16. Hear about the wedding between the QB and the wide receiver? The wedding wasn't much but the reception was fabulous.

17. A window of opportunity won't open itself.

18. I used to live in a gated community but they let me out for good behavior.

19. It takes legs to run a marathon. It takes heart to win a marathon.

20. I drove out to buy a condo, but ended up with a flat.

21. What does Santa call the first three on his Naughty Girls List? HO HO HO!

22. While it's important to win, it's imperative to compete.

23. Contrarians drink to remember.

24. I went to a silent auction but a mime got all the good stuff.

25. I grew up on a rattlesnake ranch. I was an only child…eventually.

26. Hear about the midget who was always looking over his shoulder? He was a little paranoid.

27. Most don't lose too often as much as quit too soon.

In light of the complete ineptness of this administration in using Michelle's hashtag message instead of the tools of the formerly most powerful country in the world, let us pray for those girls' rescue and their safe journey—to Israel.

Just think, if there were more Christian black girls in Jerusalem, our President may take his alliance with the Jewish State seriously.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state.

© 2014, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast