Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 9, 2014 / 9 Iyar, 5774

Youth charge racism on top of old fogeys

By Dave Weinbaum




JewishWorldReview.com | It's come to my attention that I've finally reached the stage in my life when some, especially millennials, refer to me as an old fogey, smartass, conservative, out of touch, bald, gray-beard, old fart, schmuck (the last from my son, who I affectionately call, Putz). Worst of all, they accuse me and my ilk of being racist. It's a form of profiling that I was guilty of just a few years ago. Now I'm blown up by my own petard.

To make a mountain out of an anthill, piling on like Libs at a MSNBC leg-tingling rally for Obama's 50,000th speech about Obamacare, comes this nasty charge: Old peeps, by our age alone, have racial biases that we're unable to shake-until they ooze out like an exorcized demon, upon our demise.

The hurdle for this label isn't high. We either must be breathing and/or on the right side of the grass. We don't have to criticize a soul much less an incompetent black president (There I go again!). All we need do is register with one of the two above qualifications and we're damned to quick death. Young people demand we make room for their fair and balanced outlooks. You see, theybelieve they have no preconceived notions of prejudice. Humbug!

None other than Charles Krauthammer has commented on the Old Age Fogey Syndrome (OAFS).

His son had the audacity to challenge the Pulitzer Prize winner on his attitude toward race.

Clive Bundy said some insensitive stuff about blacks and slavery. Then came LA Clippers owner, Donald Sterling on the cusp of winning a lifetime achievement award from the NAACP, taped by his multiracial self-described archivist girlfriend, with words that got him banned for life from the NBA.

Today, he answers that he can't be a racist - he's a Jew! Gee Don thanks for throwing all the rest of us Yidden under the Volkswagen!

We all know that if you're black you can't be a racist. Isn't that right, Jesse, Al, Eric, NAACP and Barack? You and some special white friends have trumped that charge and encouraged the Check your privilege anti-white screed you use to control free speech, especially on college campuses.

Street corners make poor fathers

Little is said about black-on-black crime in this country. In fact, until yesterday, we heard not a peep about black Muslim on black Christian crime. Now, out of nowhere, the head of al-Qaeda affiliated Boko Haram, Abubakar Shekau declared he had kidnapped about 300 black girls in Nigeria and was selling them as sex slaves and wives to fellow Muslims. Their crime? They were being educated against the rulings of Sharia Law.

Suddenly Obama is sending US personnel to Africa and the CBC is screaming for drones to strike those bastards! Yet, in 2011 when the Republican Congress, FBI and CIA were pushing for a terrorist label for Boko Haram, President Barack Obama's Secretary of State, Hillary Clinton killed it.

Hillary is about my age. So is she racist for backing black Muslims and not black Christians? Who did anything when the New Black Panthers were blocking voting polls while armed with clubs? Who did anything when the same group paraded in the streets of Philadelphia and urged blacks to murder white men, their women and their babies?

I digress because I'm old and frustrated by all this. So, I wrote some lyrics to an old song. Hey, some take out their frustrations on gays-Alec Baldwin!

To the tune of On Top of Old Smokey:

On top of old fogeys, all wrinkled and gray

We pitter-patter each passing day

We shop at our Walmart or work there as greeters

Then eat early dinner with fellow old geezers.


We talk thru false teeth about pols who are liars

Our kids call us racist and dream funeral pyres

Asleep at eight awake by three

I go to breakfast after a two-hour pee.


In go our teeth all whitened and polished

We watch Fox News to see what Obama's demolished.

Oh dread we were heard by some eavesdropping kid

He'll make it go viral on a YouTube Vid.

On top of old Fogeys all wrinkled and gray

We pitter-patter with each passing day

We shop at our Walmart or work there as greeters

Then eat early dinner with fellow old geezers.


Gotta get to bed early. Us old folks will be scamming our local Embassy Suites out of free breakfasts in the morning.

Never give up, never let up and you'll never let your country down.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state.

© 2014, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast