Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Apr. 15, 2013/ 5 Iyar, 5773

Libs: Obama's policies betray poor and middle class

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Conservatives, this column isn't for you. I'm reaching out to the opposition. I want to reason with them, listen to their thoughts and communicate mine. I want to start a dialogue sticking to the facts as I see them but with as much patience and perseverance as humanly possible. I want to recruit Capitalists out of budding Statists--to see what I see; the destruction of the USA for us—and for them—ALL OF US —if we keep going down this lethal sinkhole called Socialism.

I'm not the only one. Rand Paul gave a speech today to Howard University Students, a mostly black audience, on why they should consider voting for the GOP.

Even Mitt Romney gets it— now. He knows it was a mistake to give 47% of the population the back of his hand. He may even understand that an expedited immigration plan is at hand for the exchange of border security. No, Ann Coulter, we aren't sending 12 million amigos back to Mexico after looking the other way for the last 50 years. You'll just have to convince them to become "complete Americans"--you know, like us Jews.

I'm no prophet—although I bet on Louisville against Michigan. One does not need to be a seer to Google the policies of Communist/Socialist dictators or the rise and fall of the Roman Empire. We're not talking brain surgery, as brain surgeon Dr. Ben Carson likes to say. But, if you claim that's ancient history, I've got news for you.

Europe's recent travails would seem to be enough evidence of the failure of Socialist policies. The tragedies of unbalanced economies based on those who demand to be paid by the state overwhelming those taxpayers who fund the treasuries are the real Greek tragedy. You can see the daily perils of Greece, Spain, England and the nightmare of Cypress robbing the bank accounts of its own citizens to give to the entitled.

These are the kind of policies that lead to economic and spiritual collapse. The Obama Administration seems to be preparing us for that. How many:


  • Muslim Brotherhood affiliates does Barack Obama have to put in his regime?

  • Terror attacks involving the murder and maiming of US troops can he call "workplace violence?"

  • Children can be murdered before he calls for armed security in the schools of America?

  • Times can you shove big government down our throats with horrendous results?

  • Enemies can you create by aiding al-Qaeda to take power in Tunisia, Libya, Egypt and Syria?

  • $trillions in deficit spending aligned with tax increases can you create before the taxpayers decide to become recipients of welfare or move to a tax-friendlier country?


Once there is no hope to pay the entitlements, what are the poor and middle class, old and sick, going to do?

The Scourge of Victimization

I know, I'm treading on thin ice commenting on this, but I believe the poor have been sold a bill of goods. In the case of slave ancestors, you've been shackled with new chains—even worse than those who bought and sold, bred and beat your kin. At least slaves could dream of what they would do when they became free. Poor whites and Latinos are no different. Obama and the Dems convinced you to give up your dreams. They want you on welfare. They need you dependent on government—forever--in order to keep them in power.

The best thing Clinton did for the country when he wasn't indulging himself in the WH hallways, was sign off on the Republican idea of the work requirement for welfare. Many people, subjected to the spiritual bindings of generational welfare found jobs, opened businesses and found out they were just as qualified as any American to pursue liberty and happiness.

Many, many minorities have accomplished great achievement, prominent position and wealth, beyond their wildest dreams.

Don't believe me?

Think it's all rigged against you?

Then answer me this—How did a man with a white mother and black-African father who was bought up by his white grandparents become the first black President of the United States of America? Pretty ironic that now he's the one calling the shots and he's encouraging you to welfare instead of the pursuit of the American Dream.

Heck, He's living it! WHY CAN'T YOU?

WHY CAN'T ALL OF US!?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast