Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 4, 2014 / 4 Nissan, 5774

Has anyone in the Obama administration realized why they're failing?

By Dave Weinbaum




JewishWorldReview.com | Forget about the wars on: women, the insured, blacks, whites, Native Americans, Asians, other countries, taxpayers, history and logic. The left either lies about incontrovertibly-inconvenient facts or uses straw men to prejudice the populace.

Some lefties are captive to their own guilt. Whites must atone to blacks, Euro-Americans to Native Americans, Big Business to poor, everyone to those aliens who were formerly called illegals. Thus, Progressives feel it necessary to achieve absolution of fault(s) that plague them. They've concluded our country is evil and needs to change.

It doesn't stop there.

Beyond fact, Progressives demand that we feel responsible also. I mean really feel. It becomes their creed. Their jobs are to proselytize you and me. The detection of the slightest disagreement can be dangerous to your health, job, family and tax returns.

If we're deemed conservative, we're attacked until they eliminate us or we face them down. There is no compromise with Progressives. It's their way or the highway. Here are a few examples of what sets them off:


  • Slavery-a terrible practice-but not my doing or anyone I know. Bondage is still in force throughout the globe. In fact, my ancestors were kept as slaves for four centuries, too. Ironically, it was Africans who imprisoned us. Abe Lincoln and the Republicans convinced the country that the issue of slavery was unnegotiable, leading to the Civil War and the death of 600,000 Americans. Dems were dragged by Lincoln, kicking and screaming all the way. The Civil Rights Bill wasn't passed because of Dems, but in spite of them. If the Democratic Party had their way we might have slavery yet today.

  • Poor minorities-From Lyndon Johnson to now, the war on poverty has been an expensive failure. The problem is Progressives, once they've paid back their donors with taxpayer cash, endeavor to bring everyone down to the poorest level. Instead of treating the wound of poverty, they cut those who provide jobs for the poor off at the legs. The poor is only useful to them when they're living off the taxpayer dole.

  • Unions-So useful at first-so counterproductive now. But as long as the dinosaurs who run these corrupt behemoths keep funneling cash into the Democratic coffers, they will be coddled-at the expense of the working people they are supposed to be helping.

  • Global Warming-Back in the mid 70's, lefties promoted the coming of a new ice age. Since that didn't quite pan out, they went the other way. Of all the luck, that hasn't panned out either. For the last 17 years our temps haven't gone up. I can understand their frustration. In the UK the Global Warming crowd is demanding the doubters be jailed just for disagreeing. If logic won't work, jail the opponent.

  • Capitalism-Despite about 240 years of success, featuring a brilliant Lincoln who refused the advice to vanquish the South. Instead he rebuilt them out of a slave-based economy to join the rest of the country. Until now, our economic success has been unparalleled.

  • The poor-Even Jesus admitted we would always have poor people. The desperately poor and disabled who can't take care of themselves should be provided for by taxpayers. Those who are gaming the system in return for their votes should be removed from the welfare rolls, stat. The idea is to provide opportunity escape routes for everyone willing to pay the price of hard work and education. While there should never be guarantees, many with perseverance will and have become wealthy enough to realize there is an American dream. The Left's concept is that it's necessary to raise the poor by tearing everyone else down- except for the ruling class--has never worked in history. As Margaret Thatcher once opined, pretty soon you run out all the other people's money.

  • Enemies, Allies and our military-As the number one world power, how we treat them sends NSA volumes of information which determines who will attack whom-including the USA. When your foe is invading countries with the threat of starting WW3, who thinks it's a good idea waggle your tail between your legs and announce you're cutting our military to pre-1940 levels? The Progressive theory of apologizing for America must look completely idiotic and weak to the despots and our friends alike. Equal disdain should go to people with reset buttons and hatred for those who forecast the fix we would be in with that behavior, like Palin and Romney.


What it comes down to is this: While winning elections is important, administering the government is imperative.

Liberals can't govern their way out of a paper bag.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state.

© 2014, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast