Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 6, 2012/ 12 Adar, 5772

Bad news for Barry: The unification of Christians and Jews

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm a Jew living in a small town in Mid Missouri. Originally from the South Side of Chicago, via Skokie/Evanston, Denver and St. Louis, I had an opportunity as a young man to open a national franchise in a small town. When I brought my parents here from Chicago in 1977, my family comprised about 30% of the Jewish population in a 50 mile radius.

When representatives of the national franchise offered me the opportunity to build a s tore in Rolla, MO, I asked if there were any Jews there. They said there was one. I said, "Please describe WAS. They said there was a Jewish businessman, but he died. I asked if it was natural causes. They assured me it was.

The closest synagogue is over an hour drive and is the oldest west of the Mississippi. Our area is dotted with churches of all Christian denominations, from Pentecostal, Baptist, Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, Episcopalian and Lutheran.

As every Jew knows, Christians want you to convert and follow Jesus. All through my life I've been proselytized, from golfers who I caddied for in an exclusive country club (no Black or Jewish membership allowed) to Christian customers, to door-to-door Evangelists. It would always start nice enough but when I assured t hem I wasn't about to turn my back on G-d as I knew Him and the thousands of years of ancestors who held at least some tradition of solidity toward the Jewish faith, it often got ugly. Most of the time, it ended with the Christians telling me I would be going to Hell and me thinking, at that moment, I was already there.

However, with the rise of social media, I've noticed that most of my "friends," "followers" and followed are Christian Conservatives who back the Jewish State of Israel.

A few weeks ago, I received a call from Pastor Maxwell, leader of a local Pentecostal Church. I was a long-time customer of her husband, Jim who was the go-to expert on refrigeration until he retired about 20 years ago.

She invited me to attend a Sunday church service where Israeli Rabbi Moshe Rothchild would be speaking. I thanked her and told her I'd think about it.

She must have read my mind.

Pastor Maxwell called back and said this was about a coalition between Jews and Christians to support Israel as the Jewish State and no attempts would be made to convert me. When I asked her where the church was I realized it was five minutes from my house. I cased the church before I decided to attend. It was a small building with hardly a window—but they did have an Israeli flag flying next to the Stars and Stripes out front.

Upon entering the church, I met Pastor Dr. Tom Baggett and later his talented wife Shelli who preached and sang during the service. I also met the Rabbi and determined he was the real thing--no Jew for Jesus here! I could see this was a legitimate attempt to bridge the gaps between Jews and Christians. It was the start of a noble effort to unite in order to preserve Israel and offset the common enemy of Jihad.

Sitting behind Rabbi Rothchild before he was called to speak, I sidled up to whisper in his ear not to worry—I had his back. That engendered a nervous laugh on his part.

Pastor Maxwell introduced Pastor Baggett who revealed his original meeting with the Rabbi while on tour in Israel. Standing in line together for some time, the two hit it off. The result is the formation of a group of Christian clerics and Rabbis called Teach for Israel.

The Rabbi took the podium and told of the importance of this overdue alliance, while garnering a lot of laughs along the way. The essence is we agree to disagree on theology but understand, respect and support each other's right to exist as sovereign faiths.

After the service the one thing everyone I talked to had in common was the united stand against President Obama and Democrats in Congress. Barry's coddling of Islamic Terrorists and aid in forming a Muslim Caliphate across the Middle East has put Jews and Christians there in peril.

I'm beginning to think with Catholics having their rights dissed by Obama, Republicans have a good chance of sweeping the 2012 elections despite Obama's billion dollar campaign war chest.

Shall we bow our heads in united prayer…

For more information go to www.teachforisrael.org

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles