Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 1, 2013/ 19 Adar, 5773

If you could talk to the libs

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I agree with President Obama in one area: Education is imperative. While having a college education hasn't exactly panned out for our youts acquiring lucrative jobs under his regime, he's wisely looked to a younger crowd. Our President is demanding that four- year-olds stop hanging around playpen corners, wasting time in useless pursuits of toy- playing and get their little butsky's to work. Little loafers! No more good times for you! No more fun! From now on its DOUBLE SECRET PROBATION FOR YOU!

My take on our need for education is remedial. We need an emergency intervention in the "low information" voters, AKA Obama supporters. But we can't stop there.

As conservatives, we need to talk to any and everyone who will listen to us long enough to get our message out. Why? Because in the long run, Socialism destroys governments and every person in its path. On the other hand, the Republic, when run halfway right, is the best example of a balanced government with freedom and opportunity for all there has ever been—and we can prove it.

We must stop assuming, as Romney did, that half the population is going to vote for the other guy. How do you expect to win elections by giving half the populace the back of your hand?

I have some experience in elective politics, although mine was in business. I was elected and reelected twice in two different restaurant coops as president. After those gigs, I was elected to represent parts of six states to a major Fortune 500 company for our mutual advertising. Here's what I learned:


  • Never assume you won't get someone's vote. Go after perceived enemies more than you would your friends.

  • No Pandering! Tell it like it is, only without the name-calling. Keep the sarcasm low.

  • Watch Dr. Ben Carson's speech to the National Prayer Day Breakfast for the right tone. He verbally destroyed Obama's policies, but did it in such a way that it wasn't over the top, but matter of fact.

  • Once elected, represent your so-called enemies as well as you do your friends. Always listen and be as polite as possible even if they look upon you as an enemy. You want them voting for your reelection or another conservative if you aren't running.

  • If you decide to support a policy that goes against what they want, explain it to them as honestly as you can. Honest communication is imperative.

  • When liberal name-calls do not respond in kind—just intone something like, "No need for name-calling. Let's just keep to the points." Remember, if you are arguing on social media or talk radio there are many more in the audience you are trying to convince than just the person you're going toe-to-toe with.

  • You must set an example for others, even your enemies.

  • Keep the conversations going. There will be fights. There will be standoffs. You don't need a concession on every point. Just agree to disagree and let the facts of the situation play out. Remember, the argument against Obamacare in 2009 is buoyed by its incredibly inept implementation thus far in 2013. It doesn't look like it's going to get any better, either.


NEVER give up on ANY voter!

Remember, you are not going to be present in the voting booths so never assume that you know how any person is going to vote.

Have the confidence that comes with knowledge of the reasons this country was formed as it was, the wisdom and regrets of its past sins and the rejuvenation that comes from a free people buying into a buoyant, competitive capitalistic market. Get people to believe they can and should get a job and go as far as they want in our economy. Know your rags to riches stories. In this country there's a plethora of them.

Before I got into the restaurant business, I sold life and health insurance in Denver. Having no experience or contacts in Colorado, I made it a point to try and close every sale I could, even to those who gave every indication that they weren't going to buy. As long as they didn't physically throw me out, I tried closing the sale. I was absolutely amazed at the amount of people who I sold policies to who--to this day--I have no idea why they bought from me.

It was a lesson well learned. Conservatives need the ability to become non-judgers. We need to bring as many people under our tent as possible and we need to do it now.

And again, the reason we need to do it? Because our government, when run even half-hazardly, is the best one ever invented by man.

If we can't convince more people than we have in recent elections while energizing our base to get out and vote, our form of government will be a faded memory in a decade or so.

Don't let that happen to our children and grandchildren.

They deserve the United States of America at its best.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast