Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 1, 2011 / 25 Adar I, 5771

The running of the Cheeseheads: A time for reflection

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm a sensitive guy. Don't ask anyone who knows me. Just take my word.

I think I understand some Progressives, at least the innocent head-nodders. After years of lies about President Bush, they're still foaming at the mouth. They growl when they pass by those green things that resemble small trees with leaves on them. When even a lefty orders a Busch (more egregious if it were a Select), they seethe. They've been brainwashed, minds unable to reason on their own. Their reaction is Pavlovian.

Some believe President Bush led the attack on 9/11 by placing bombs inside the buildings —that he gathered the wind off West Africa, twirled it with his cheerleader arms, then blew it in hurricane strength directly across an ocean and a gulf and hit a bulls-eye in New Orleans just so he could devastate the blacks who lived there. To add to their misery, Dubya blew up the levies then flew over in AF1 to laugh at the poor minorities flailing in the floodwaters. If you don't believe me, ask Jesse, Farrakhan and that MENSA rep from the music world, Kanye.

Back to my sensitivity, lest you think this isn't about me. I asked myself, "was I being conned by conservatives at Fox?" The other side demonizes "Faux" news. "If they report it, you know it's a lie." Was my reaction to Obama, his dancing czars, Eric Holder, Big Sis, Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid conditioned by evil outside sources? Just who or what was in control of my brain? So I decided to see for myself.

Today, big labor called out the loyal to demonstrate their ire over Wisconsin, Rhode Island, Indiana and all the states who are asking for voluntary cutbacks from public union members with adjustments as to their bargaining rights. Marching orders were to protest at state capitals in all 57 states--a clue to me that this was most likely coordinated in the war room at the White House.

Tea Parties also called their brethren (full disclosure: I party with the pekoe-lovers) to counter demonstrate.

I went to the Missouri State Capitol in Jefferson City this afternoon, knowing I'm considered one of those mindless knot-heads who has his head infested by Fox News. On the Missouri River side of state house were about 150 union/progressives. At the front of the dome were about half as many tea partiers.

There was no hesitation on where I was going. I went straight to the union side.

Why?

Just an attempt to find anything at all that made sense of their argument that I could see unfiltered. I listened intently. I heard with my own ears what progressive public union backers were saying.

From the speakers mouths to my ears—unfiltered:


  • Tax the rich!

  • Everyone has a right to Obamacare!

  • It's Wall Street's fault.

  • People are more important than corporations.

  • Republicans are evil…


…and on and on. I did get into a debate with two retired teachers, John and Ann, who were passionate and respectful, but in my mind misguided. We left shaking hands even though we disagreed.

All in all, I learned that Fox was reporting what was really happening. While I am sensitive, I felt thoroughly invested in my beliefs—not brainwashed--just right.

Run Dem Senators—RUN! AKA, where's Senator Cheesehead?

In this Oscar season, we are forced to witness the running of the bullsh@@ting Wisconsin Democrat Senators away from their responsibilities. These cowards have run away from the majority of Wisconsin taxpayers, who had enough of the corruption, degradation and theft of their hard-earned cash for this den of iniquity—union members who give cash to their politician bosses who then give them virtually everything they ask for. Then they charge the very taxpayers whom they demonize. Taxpayers elected Scott Walker and a majority of Republicans to stop this scam and that's exactly they're doing.

Obama promised to put on comfortable shoes (removing his golf spikes) and march with the unions. He's MIA.

Maybe he's ignoring Congressman Allen West's plea to have President Obama visit forward positions in the war zones. I might agree with Obama. If something happens to him we would be stuck with Joe "Stand up Chuck" Biden

And no, I didn't get that from Fox!

But they're welcome to it.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles