Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 24, 2014 / 24 Adar I, 5774

The secret to a rich life is to have more beginnings than endings: Part 4

By Dave Weinbaum




JewishWorldReview.com | "Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play" - Heraclitus

Ten years after a new beginning writing, I found I had penned thousands of quotes and jokes. While I began making a yearly quote/joke calendar about 1999 and continue to do so to this day, I wondered what else I could do with the one-liners.

If you've got a good water supply go to the thirsty, so I started hanging out at comedy clubs, asking the comics where they got their routines. Seems almost all wrote their own routines—except the ones who stole them. So I put two and nutsville together and decided to take a crack at cracking others up.

At 55 years of age, I got up in front of an audience whose average age was about 22. Every performer that night was amazingly gross, with the exception of a few. The dirty ones got the bigger laughs.

Surprisingly calm, I took to the mike and spewed my act. That's right, I was so fast that not even the few jokes that were funny to some got much of a laugh because I didn't plan to pause long enough to let the laughter be part of the act. All I was concerned with was getting my gig squeezed into the three minutes I was allowed, so they'd let me back another time.

I was more than thrilled with my first performance. I did get a few laughs and I did finish on time and I did it without bringing a piece of paper on stage.

I repeated gigs another 70 time, developing an act that killed some nights. Eventually I emceed for a few pros. I could tell that if I started in my youth I may have ended up with a decent comedy/acting career.

Not having time to travel the circuit, I knew I couldn't expand as a comic. My job and being close to family were more important.

Ideas are king—their sources commoners



Then I got an idea from listening to radio. I noticed a time slot on KZNN 99.7 FM and KTTR 1490 AM Friday mornings from 9:05 until 10 that had shows about tech and law, hosted by a few guys I knew. I had station manager Mike Thompson throw my name in a hat if an opening ever came up. Apparently back in November of 2009, Mike, who I now call Pig Vomit, lost the hat in a drunken bet and called me 'cause I was the only one he remembered.

My first show was in early December, 2009. I managed to get the ire of the station owner so much, he put me on probation in writing for telling this joke: My dog got into my stash of Viagra—at least he stopped chasing his own tail.

Who knew that was offensive?!

It was an inauspicious start, not unlike many I've had. I watched my mouth—only getting as gross as my fellow radio hosts.

My show, which is modeled after Rush Limbaugh with a dash of Don Imus, began to gain traction. I billed it as the fastest hour in radio and went out and got sponsors, with the help of Tonya Bramel and Anna Riley Poling. I work very hard on getting the latest information to my listeners with my own analysis.

As the sponsors grew and my I got better, I realized I had some assets for the radio business:


  • I'd run meetings for over 30 years. It helped me manage the time and callers.

  • My quotes and jokes are useful and entertaining in an adlib situation.

  • I've been in retail business for 42 years and have owned Melrose Quarry and Asphalt for 10 years.

  • I've successfully run for office in my business associations and dealt with top management, including political situations.

  • I have never come unprepared for my show.

  • My comedic experience gave me a better timing.

  • I love doing it.

About two years into doing The Dave Weinbaum Show, I approached the station manager. I said, "Pig Vomit, my show is making you guys money way above my ad contributions. Shouldn't I get paid?" After he stopped laughing, he said, "I'll tell you what Weinbaum, I'll start paying you when Niagara Falls freezes over."

I signed my first radio contract on January 11th this year, at the age of 65.

On the same day the Internet was replete with stories and pictures concerning the cold weather.

Niagara Falls had frozen over.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state.

© 2014, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast