Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 24, 2012/ 1 Adar, 5772

Obama's 150 million points of blight

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning for a government check. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me so that I may pay their rent and buy their food on the taxpayer dole for the price of their vote." Originally written by Emma Lazarus in 1883 and mounted on the side of the Statue of Liberty in 1903


Millions of people looking to live the American dream walked by this missive, named The New Colossus. While I'm sure most couldn't translate it, just the symbolism of a bronze plaque on the liberty lass must have awed them.

Since I'm convinced it's a living message , I took a few liberties to change it to what I and many perceive to be the Mantra of Democrats in general and President Barack Hussein Obama's reelection campaign.

Ideas are king --- their sources commoners

This is how low progressive/liberals have sunk to: the theft of our freedom by giving checks to those willing to be a slave to a party with a proven wicked theology. Ironically, these same debilitating polices drove our ancestors to the USA.

Where shall Americans who still believe in the dream escape to under this totalitarianism? I say, it ain't over 'til they roll up the US flag and bury it with the now shredded Constitution.

Like the bottom feeders they are, Democrats fertilize their garden with glee, intentionally putting more and more on food stamps and welfare. Once trapped and addicted, they tell these slaves that if they vote in Republicans they'll lose their checks. Worse yet, they may be forced to -- dare I say -- look for a job.

Top Presidential advisor, Valerie Jarrett and ex-Speaker, Nancy Pelosi have the audacity to tell us that welfare spenders are a fabulous stimulant to an economy. Thus the welfare zombies kept in mental and economic chains, live and procreate without a shot at the real American dream.

I can hear Progressives screeching about now: "You're heartless and cruel, Weinbaum!" Well you can kiss my hairy Hobbit feet! What's cruel is to convince people not to hope, not to work, not to dream in return for what - the selfish quest for power and astonishing arrogance over your belief you are better than everyone?

Currently, taxpayers comprise 50.5% and non-taxpayers 49.5%. And it's trending toward the takers outnumbering the makers. When those on the take dictate policy to those who make, it's the beginning of the end-or in this case the end of the beginning.

It would have turned Tevye from Fiddler on the Roof /to move to Siberia from southern Russia, not Chicago. His song and dream would have summersaulted into this.

From If I Were a Rich Man by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick

[TEVYE]

"Dear G0d, you made many, many rich people.
I realize, of course, that it's a shame to be rich.
and a terrible example in this country!
So, what would have been so terrible if I had lost small fortune?"

If I were a poor man,
Yubby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dum.
All day long I'd biddy biddy bum.
If I were a welfare man.
I wouldn't have to work hard.
Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum.

If I were a biddy biddy poor,
Idle-diddle-daidle-daidle man.

I'd buy a big tall house that I couldn't pay for,
Right in the middle of the town.
A retracting roof with indoor pool below.
There would be one long staircase just going up,
And one even longer coming down,
And one more leading nowhere, just for show.

I'd fill my yard with Harleys, Lincolns and Cadillacs
For the town to see and hear.
Rev the engines just as blaring as can be
Each motor roar, honk & thwack
Would land like a trumpet on the ear,
As if to say "Here lives a welfare man."

I'd see my wife, my Golde, looking like a poor man's wife
With an occupier's chip.
Demonstrating to her heart's delight.
I see her putting on hairs and strutting like a heifer
Oy, what a nasty mood she's in.
Campaigning for Democrats left and lefter.

The most Progressive men in town would come to fawn on me!
They would ask me to advise them,
If they were paying me enough yen,
"If you please, Reb Tevye..."
"Pardon me, Reb Tevye..."
Posing problems that would cross a politicians eyes.

And it won't make one bit of difference if I answer right or wrong.
When you're a welfare man they know they've got you by the schlong

If I were a poor man,
Yubby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dum.
All day long I'd biddy biddy bum.
If I were a welfare man.
I wouldn't have to work hard.
Idle-diddle-daidle-daidle man.

Just as long as I back Dems, they wouldn't give a damn.

It's called the 2012 election. We need to stop 150 million Americans from dragging us with them into the abyss.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles