Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 8, 2013/ 28 Shevat, 5773

Let's face it: I'm just not 'subtle' enough to understand Obama

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My last column about my Elderly Relative Tour (ERT) stirred quite a bunch of Shiite-on both sides of the Matzo. It also raised relatives of mine, I hadn't seen in years and others I didn't know I was related to.

The scores of emails reminded me of the scene straight out of Tevye's dream in Fiddler on the Roof. There he encountered his dead Grandma, Tzeitl. In Tevye's made-up dream, Grandma Tzeitl's ghost chides and shames him into cancelling his deal betrothing his daughter Tzeitl's (grandma's namesake) with the rich butcher, 62-year-old Lazer- Wolfe so that she can marry her true love, Motel Camzoil, the poor tailor. He frightens his wife into agreeing with him.

If I could work up a good dream for my Obama-loving fellow Jews I would. They won't believe the facts, red flags and warnings emanating from Obama, his Administration, his followers and the Democratic Party. These warnings are being thrown at us from an Administration who feels it necessary to pander to Israel's and America's mutual enemies and are about as subtle as Beyoncé* on stage at the Super Bowl. Those of us who like to think we've been paying attention to history recognize these warnings as sure as the jackboots from the past banging on the pavement to round up a fresh load of defenseless Jews to haul them off to the gas chambers.

I found it interesting, yet encouraging that the one critical letter I received was from a friend of 96-year-old Cousin David's. She concluded that I wasn't "subtle" enough to "get" President Obama, and that I handled myself like a "Sledge Hammer."

OY that President of ours! He's Sooooooo Sharp-what a gay blade HE is: It's true. I' m not subtle enough to understand why President Obama:


  • Helped create Islamist revolution in Egypt. Long-time leader, Hosni Mubarak was replaced with the Muslim Brotherhood led by Marsi, a man who didn't wait long to shred their Constitution. Mubarak kept the peace and cooperated with Israel and the USA for 30 years. Marsi was quoted two years ago as claiming Jews were descended from monkeys and pigs.

  • Delivered sophisticated F-16 fighter jets and 200 tanks to Marsi and the Muslim Brotherhood run Egypt

  • Is so close to the Muslim Brotherhood, who partnered with Adolf Hitler in his quest to exterminate Jews.

  • Stood down attempts of the Iranian people to overthrow the Israeli and America- hating Mullahs.

  • Appointed a driveling, incompetent anti-Semite, Senator Chuck Hagel to be Secretary of Defense.

  • Kept his relationships to anti-Semites Reverend Wright, Louis Farrakhan and the Muslim Brotherhood secret.

  • Told AIPAC that Jerusalem would remain as the Jewish Capital of Israel, yet a few days later imposed the precondition upon Israel that it would move back to pre'67 borders, as a precondition to talks with Palestinian factions, thus splitting Jerusalem as it was then.

  • Stood behind a Dem party platform that was wrenched by force to reflect a backing of Israel by phonying up a voice vote-the same one that originally disgraced G0d.

  • Surrounded himself with anti-Semitic Jews, Axelrod, Emanuel and Debbie Wasserman-Schultz.

  • Mistreated Israel's Prime Minister, Binyamin Netanyahu in an awful display of rudeness, witnessed by American Jews and Israeli enemies throughout the world.

  • Seems not to understand the magnitude how Jews were treated, comparing the Holocaust to the plight of Palestinians.

  • Hasn't learned, ironically, from some of his biggest supporters in Hollywood. Their movies, involving many liberal Jews are educational. Flicks such as the aforementioned Fiddler, Schindler's List, Life is Beautiful, Sophie's Choice, The Pianist, The Ann Frank Diary, Defiance, Inglourious Basterds and scores more.


I guess I'm in good company. It appears that many Americans, Netanyahu, most of Israel's leadership and 78% of Israeli Jews aren't subtle enough to understand President Obama either.

Jewish Libs: I say this with as much love as I can muster. Get out of your comfort zone. We've been there before. The history of our survival has been riddled with unpreparedness and a trusting of "authorities" not to harm us. The times Jews survived from peril are either when we ran to escape or, like Israel, fought back.

A final point: Jews with or without Israel are subject to murder, theft of worldly goods, exile, Synagogues destroyed with Mosques built over them, pogroms and genocide. We have enough enemies bashing Israel. We don't need to pile on just to seem like we're assimilated, non-racist, modern Jews. As imperfect as it is, Israel is the G0d-Given home of the Jews.

Like the bar in Cheers, Jews have a place to go--just in case we need it.

Dave The Hammer Weinbaum

*I have not now nor ever lip-synced this or any other column-so help me Moses.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast