Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb 7, 2014 / 7 Adar I, 5774

The secret to a rich life is to have more beginnings than endings: Part 2

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Please oblige me whilst I reminisce. Commenters from my last column said my experiences helped them a lot. There'll be one or two more missives—then back to the disaster that is the Dems and the Obama Administration. In the meantime, listen to my newly contracted radio show on Friday mornings or the podcast on www.daveweinbaum.com for me and my callers' political observations.

Thanks for your indulgence!

If you can't excel with talent, triumph with effort

When I was ten a teacher decided to put me on stage in front of the whole school to introduce the singing of the Star Spangled Banner and the Pledge of Allegiance. (Yes they did that back then.) The problem was no one told me how to prepare or what to expect.

I froze—in front of the entire school—kids and teachers alike . I was so scared two teachers had to walk me off the stage. No one said anything to me. I wanted a quick and merciful death.

From that day until I was 35, I refused to speak in front of any group over three.

Even if I was talking to three people I would have panic attacks and have to move on.

Attending a business coop meeting in Springfield MO, I made the mistake of taking a bathroom break. Upon returning, I noticed a few stares from the other members. Joe Post, the president of the coop since its inception in 1959, announced that they had conducted an election for a new president. Guess who won!? That's right, MR. PANIC. I thought he was kidding. Seemed to me I was the most unlikely choice in the room.

I was scared to death. I might have to be on radio or TV. Then thousands of people would know I was a fraud and not worthy of the success I had attained up until that time. On the other hand, being a news-junky, I knew that political leaders tended to say the most idiotic things, smoothly. I knew that if I were ever to make a difference, I had to accept. I served two terms as president of the Springfield MO. Coop. Then I was elected be president of the St. Louis coop, where I succeeded myself for a second term. I did what I needed to do, scared out of my mind, but somehow I got thru it. Here's what I found out about myself.


  • Because I was reluctant to talk, I was always brief and to the point. I saw my job as getting the best idea out there as voted by the coop. If anything, I was insistent of their participation. Nothing's worse to morale when people are ignored or prevented from contributing especially when they are paying for that right.

  • I delegated jobs to other members, both franchisees and company people. I relied on them to do their tasks and they came thru like champs 95% of the time.

  • We had fun. I assigned a big clock to be raised when someone was getting windy and using the 'final question' music from Jeopardy during closed ballot voting. I used other sound effects to pull off a laugh or two.

  • Priority issues were talked about and voted upon first.

  • Most important, by using my fighting nature and sports experience, when others tried to take over the meeting by bullying, I stopped them in their tracks, no matter who they were or what they threatened me with.

After my 8 years as president of two coops I was elected to represent parts of six states as a national advertising representative, making it to the Administrative Council and head of another prestigious committee.

If I had declined the original coop election, I probably would have been out of the restaurant business and living a much less rich life than I am now.

My new beginning enhanced my life.

Next week I'll tell you about some more beginnings I took up that have made my life richer—and may help yours'.

By the way, the presidents after me insist I run the meetings in the Springfield coop. I have obliged for the last 31 years.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast