Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 1, 2013/ 21 Shevat, 5773

Jews should be a little more paranoid if they are to survive

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I just got back from SE Florida, the second segment of my Elderly Relative Tour.

These relatives can be traced back to pre-Communist Czar-led Russia. If you've seen Fiddler on the Roof you're familiar with our story — minus the musical talent and religious observation. Like Tevye and his family, their destination upon escaping Russia was Chicago to live amongst previously escaped relatives.

Cousin Tommy, who I visited in Chicago in September of 2012, is 86. David, who retired about 30 years ago, moved from Chicago to Florida. Both were born without a pot to pee in.

Tommy told me that between eight and eleven of my relatives lived in a one bedroom one bath apartment on Chicago's west side. He usually ended up sleeping on the floor. When my cousin Annette got married to Cousin Joe, they were awarded the bedroom. The nine other adults had to fend for whatever couch, chair or floor space they could find. My father lived there as well, until he met and married my mother. They left to forge their way into the land of the free and the home of the brave, America, or as we knew it then, the South Side of Chicago.

Tommy went on to achieve a good living as a promotional entrepreneur, something his son Jimmy has taken up. I learned to argue at my dining room table where Tommy and my father, Mel had frequent battles. As a child I had no idea what the debate was about—I just sensed the ferocity of the battle. After one particularly harsh dispute, they didn't talk to one another for three years. Fast forward a half century later and Tommy refused to talk to me for two years for something I said. He obviously mistook me for Melvin who had passed years before.

The Two Daves

David was born in 1917, his father was already in his 50's and his mother became terminally ill soon after his birth. On her deathbed in 1923, she told six-year-old David, "I don't know what will become of you."

Apparently, that left an impression in this young boy's mind. David began working right after. He cleaned offices for several years starting at age six. Then, around age ten he began working as a delivery boy in the streets of Chicago—running packages with a gaggle of other boys to businesses in Downtown Chicago. When that business went under, David started his own company — at age 12. He was the one dispatching employees with packages and paying them out of his own checkbook. He stayed with that concept to be one of the largest independent truck delivery services in the country. He made a fortune, enough to pay off several ex-wives and retired to Florida where— (did I mention he's 96?) he parties, goes out to dinner every night, dances, goes on cruises and walks a mile (cane-aided) every day and accompanied by his girlfriend, Patsy.

Never go with the flow until you
know where the gas chambers are

What both of these relatives have in common is an amazing will to make it big, and a bad memory. They both lean left—except when it comes to Israel's survival. Surprise, surprise! Although you might be amazed at the amount of American Jews who are willing to throw Israel under the bus by showing what righteous peeps they are by voting for Obama and the other anti-Israel Cretans AKA Progressives. Dave and Tommy think I'm a right-wing nut and I think they are forgetting the past that got them to America in the first place.

Their parents were awake enough to haul themselves out of Russia in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Many of those who stayed did so because they thought their escaping relatives were overreacting. Staying got them executed in pogroms, or they became a part of the Communist Revolution, or survived in the shadows only to be starved, sent to the Gulags by Stalin or murdered by the marauding Nazis as they approached Moscow in their failed attempt to conquer their former ally, the Soviets.

While it may be too late to change the minds of my beloved cousins, David and Tommy, maybe, just maybe I can get a few other Jews concerned enough to open up their mouths. I'm begging them to protest the anti-Semitic actions of this President and Congress, the UN, Europe and the leaders of 1.5 billion Muslims who are inciting the death of every Jewish man woman and child.

If we don't speak up now, there'll be no one left to speak for us.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2011, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast