Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 18, 2011 / 13 Shevat, 5771

The strawman assassination of our free speech

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The vicious attack by a locally well-known Tucson lunatic, Jared Loughner, upon Congresswoman Gabby Giffords and scores of others has brought to light the desperation of Liberal/Progressives in their never-ending quest to destroy the will of the American people.

Before the victims' blood dried in front of the Tucson Safeway, Paul Pathological Krugman, Economic Nobel Award winner, slimed whomever he could think of in conservative media and labeled them responsible for the Arizona blood letting without a scintilla of evidence. Incredibly, he was backed up by Pima County Sherriff, CYA Dupnic who failed to mention his long familiarity with Mr. Loughner and his psychotic history in regard to his unhappiness with his 2007 visit with Gabby. Ya think Dupnic might have got an officer or something out there just in case? Nah!

Within 24 hours of the massacre it was open season by the libiots. They blamed Palin, Rush, Beck, Hannity, O'Reilly and even me as accessories to mass murder.

How dare us right-wing pols, pundits and talk show hosts use those vitriolic words?!

Repeal Obamacare!

Stop the spending!

Protect our borders!

Keep captured al-Qaeda from being tried in NYC!

Prosecute black on white election crime as aggressively as the reverse!

Drill, baby drill!

Stop cap and trade!

Don't sign treaties that leave us vulnerable!

Let people vote union issues in private!

Stop the death panels!

Read the bills before you vote on them!

Give us better airport security by focusing on likely terrorists!

Stop governing by agency rules and executive order! That'll make you shake in your booties.

In doing column research though, I did pick up on some incendiary oratory:

If they bring a knife we bring a gun.

We need to know whose ass to kick.

Get in their face!

I don't want to quell anger, I'M ANGRY!

We will punch back twice as hard!

If (our opponents) win, it'll be hand to hand combat.

There's a lot of testosterone in my marriage --- I just wish some of it were mine

Where I come from (the South Side of Chicago) these were known as fightin' words. All this testosterone talk was attributed to one "commentator," the most powerful person on earth, President Barack Hussein Obama.

I don't recall one conservative from anywhere blaming Mr. Obama or any other progressive for the butchery in Tucson .

Even worse was the treatment of Palin.

You could count the well-trimmed nose hairs as the Washington elites turned up their snouts at Sarah. And that was from heroes Krauthammer and foes Matthews alike. Is that what they teach in those stuffy Ivy League Snobberies? I find it hard to believe how these supposedly brilliant people think, tainted by the geography of the schools they attended and the cocktail parties they imbibe at.

Palin, accused as an accessory to mass murder had no choice but to respond and respond well she did.

You know who agreed with Sarah and others who protested this blood libel? The American people, that's who!

In a recent Rasmussen Poll, 58% of the people surveyed said the Arizona shooting was a random act of violence by an unstable person. Just 28% said the shooting was the result of political anger.

If you stop making hay it could be the last straw

I see the President's memorial speech for what it was: an amazing piece of sophistry, a calculated bashing of the right for what it didn't say and a pass for the irresponsible violent rhetoric of progressive liberals, the MSM and himself.

It's a straw man argument.

Here's why. "Okay (us libs) will tone down the violent language if you righties stop pointing out our bad motives and agree to support our country-destroying policies." I back this up with all the times people were called racist for criticizing any of Obama's policies.

In the meantime, we'll (us libs) continue to shove things like the fairness doctrine, ban on drilling, cap and trade and card check down America's throats or up their other orifices.

Wake me when the left reverses THOSE POLICIES. That's when we'll know Obama and the progressives are serious.

And for those of you who yell profusely that last weeks' memorial service wasn't political, those free T-shirts were somehow inscribed with a phrase on Obama's website, Organizing For America: "Together We Thrive," February 11, 2008. Vat a coincidence!

I'll continue to align with this: "I am sick and tired of people who say if you disagree with this administration somehow you're not patriotic and we should stand up and say we are America and we have a right to debate and disagree with any administration!" Secretary of State, Hillary Rodham Clinton.

Now I can relax and watch the Jets play the Patriots where they never talk trash.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles