Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 5, 2013/ 2 Teves, 5774

The Liars Club

By Bob Tyrrell



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is now apparent that our president has lied to us. He lied when he crooned soothingly about improving the healthcare of millions of Americans through vast changes in health policy that would actually lower their costs. Those costs are now going up, and they are going up for almost everyone. They will not come down. He lied when he said we could keep our present health care policy. Those policies are rapidly disappearing. He lied again when he said we could keep our doctors. He lied when he said his plan would not involve rationing. I could go on, but in sum he is lying about most aspects of the most massive social policy in American history. It is also the greatest disaster in social policy in the history of social policy. President Barack Obama is a rank amateur.

He has lied from the start of his political life, which began not that long ago. For instance when he informed an audience of teachers in July 2008 on the campaign trail "I've written two books ... I actually wrote them myself." It was a lie. He has never written an eloquent line in his life, and those two books were professionally written. He speaks with the assistance of teleprompters. His rhetoric is formulaic. At best, he counseled with a couple of ghostwriters to write the books that bear his name. At worst, one was Bill Ayers, once a member of Students for a Democratic Society turned terrorist and then turned "educator" at the University of Illinois's Chicago campus. If he were a right-winger he would probably still be in jail.

Writers from as varied backgrounds as Jack Cashill, the conservative journalist, to Obama's popular biographer, Christopher Andersen, author of "Barack and Michelle: Portrait of an American Marriage," have adduced evidence refuting Obama's claim to authorship of his books. Last week Investors Business Daily cast still more doubt on Obama's claim to have "written two books." Now Ayers is speaking up suggestively, as he has a book out, which it is not selling all that well. Enticingly, he suggests that he is the real author of President Obama's first book, "Dreams from My Father."



Frankly, I would have advised our president to come clean about his bogus authorship years ago. Ayers is a decidedly shifty fellow and his wife, the former SDSer, Bernardine Dohrn, is worse. They were always spoiled university-bred radicals always expecting the republic to fall for their Marxist mumbo jumbo. Yet, America has never been very hospitable to the disciples of Papa Marx, much less when those disciples have pipe bombs in their hands. Now, at the end of a misspent life, Ayers suddenly anticipates yet another act. He will serve as a Saul Alinsky for the Millennials. He will write an updated "Rules for Radicals" with diagrams on how to disable mother's smartphone or how to hack into her bank account.

First, however, he needs to attract attention. My guess is that he will admit to having written Obama's best-selling "Dreams from My Father." He has suggested as much to the curious public. In October 2009, at Reagan National Airport, when asked if he had "edited" the book for his friend, Obama, he told a friend of mine that, in fact, "I wrote it." He explained that Michelle Obama had sought his help. In March 2011, during a question and answer session at Montclair State University, he admitted authorship of the book, saying: "Did you know I wrote it," and for emphasis he added "I wrote 'Dreams from My Father.'" Obama's friends in the media wrote all this off to sarcasm on Ayers' part. Obama still has a lot of friends in the media. Do you recall when Joe Klein yawped that "Dreams" "may be the best-written memoir ever produced by an American politician"? Now they are tiring of covering for a president caught in the disaster of Obamacare.

At any rate, time is running out for Bill Ayers. He is showing himself to be desperate for his last act. If he is going to identify himself as the real writer of "Dreams from My Father," it is going to have to come pretty soon. His publisher, Beacon Press, seems to agree. In its promotion of "Dreams" on Amazon.com there appear these words: Ayers "finally 'confesses' that he did write 'Dreams from My Father.'" Well, good for him. However, I feel Ayers' last act will be futile. The lies of Obama may have begun with his literary product but they will end with Obamacare and soon. It is the true disaster.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast