Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 14, 2013/ 11 Kislev, 5774

What Is So Polarizing About Chris Christie?

By Bob Tyrrell



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | They are at it again. They are again telling Republicans and conservatives how dreadful their political condition really is. I am speaking, of course, of the voices of the Kultursmog, and to hear them tell it we are in a hell of a heap. We lost the governorship of Virginia. Even worse, we won the governorship of New Jersey. What dreadful news.

Of course, in Virginia the Republicans lost to a congenital liar, backed by the most famous congenital liars in American politics, the Clintons. It is only a matter of time before he is in deep do-do. Governor-elect Terry McAuliffe's campaign was an amalgam of lies as flagrant as his lie in his memoirs. There, for no reason whatsoever, he lied claiming The American Spectator charged Bill Clinton with ordering "the murder of political opponents." When I asked him about this lie he did not simply shut down or ignore my inquiry. He actually initiated a series of puckish letters to me never admitting that he had lied but constantly caviling with me on some obscure point that he raised. The upshot of our correspondence was that he could never identify where it was that The American Spectator said Clinton had asked people to commit murder. McAuliffe performed similarly against Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli, and if it were not for the fact that he had the funding to outspend Cuccinelli by two to one I have no doubt he would have lost. As it was, once Cuccinelli began tying him to Obamacare, McAuliffe's lead dwindled from double digits to just a margin of 2.5 percent.

In the New Jersey race the Republicans won and with 61 percent of the vote. Yet, according the Kultursmog, they really lost because the victor, incumbent Governor Chris Christie, is a "polarizing force." He offends the tea party, and that means he can never win higher office, for instance, the presidency. But wait a minute. Is not the tea party's major concern the fiscal health of the Republic? It was in 2009 when the tea party was getting started. Back then if a candidate brought up the social issues that candidate was doomed with the tea party, according to the voices of the smog. Well, as Christie told the New York Times this week, "I've cut taxes, cut spending, reformed pensions and benefits. ... My record is my record. I'm proud of it. And it is a conservative record, governing as a conservative in a blue state." As for the dreaded social issues, he is opposed to abortion and to gay marriage, though he called off a legal challenge to gay marriage in October perhaps seeing it as a futile fight. President Barack Obama might do the same with his monstrosity, Obamacare.



Doubtless there are people who do not like Governor Christie and think his star has risen far enough. Yet I will tell you he is as conservative as he says he is, and that it is a winning combination with funders, ordinary citizens, and even with journalists. Back in 2010 when I had him to a large American Spectator dinner in New York City he was a hit with just such a crowd. He was the complete gentleman, suave and amusing. He talked about economies in government, lowering taxes, and balanced budgets. He is not polarizing at all. Once again the Kultursmog is in the dark about Republicans and conservatives.

Yet we are told he cannot beat the Kultursmog's "inevitable candidate," Hillary Clinton. In the New Jersey exit polls she trounced the governor. So let me give you another set of polls. According to the Rasmussen poll, Hillary polled highest when a sampling of Democrats was asked "which candidate they would least like to see with the nomination." A WSJ/NBC poll found that she had fallen from an April favorable rating of 56 percent to 46 percent and her negative rating was on the upswing to 33 percent. Doubtless, there will be more. She was the least popular first lady in history.

I do not know if Christie is going to run for the presidency. Nor do I know if he could win, but I believe he is a contender and if he runs he will be contending for the nomination in a very competitive field of Republican candidates. As for the Democrats, they have Hillary right now and, possibly, Joe Biden. The Kultursmog is desperate.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast