Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 19, 2014 / 21 Sivan, 5774

Kicked From Behind

By Bob Tyrrell



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Aha, Mr. Obama, how do you now like "leading from behind"?

When you first enunciated this hocus-pocus in 2011, Charles Krauthammer called it neither a theory nor a doctrine. He called it "dithering," a style devoid of ideas. Instead of the implementation of a doctrine, we have seen indecision, hesitancy, delay. In the aftermath of that delay, it is too late to prevent the carnage, a carnage that did not have to take place. Iraq was stable and relatively peaceful before we led from behind. Now the country is quite possibly lost. Cartographers will be presenting the world with a new map of the area once it has been carved up.

One would think that President Barack Obama has been sweating profusely of late. Possibly he is in his meetings with the National Security Council, assuming he meets with the group. We know he is flying off to Indian reservations to focus Americans on the plight of Native Americans. He did this on Friday, and he is attending fundraisers. Perhaps he will attempt to focus our attention on the plight of American gypsies next. How about a fundraiser for American gypsies? There he could present his sleek and cool image. No sweat, all is well. Yet back in Baghdad, American diplomats are looking skyward for the helicopters. It might be Saigon circa 1975 all over again.

Why when the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria pounced last week, were there no American troops in Iraq? In 2011, we were supposedly hammering out a status of forces agreement to keep a residual force of 23,000 troops there. We have done this after World War II, the Korean War and other conflicts. Unfortunately, the hammering out of the agreement ended in bickering and foot stomping. For one thing, the stupendously disagreeable Iraqi prime minister, Nouri al-Maliki, insisted on having criminal jurisdiction over American forces in Iraq. Rather than negotiate, Obama did what he had already promised to do. He called American forces home. Now we see the outcome. After a decade of American involvement in Iraq and 4,500 Americans dead, a handful of terrorists — ISIS numbers only in the thousands — are acting like a conquering army and taking whole provinces. The Iraqi army is stripping off its uniforms to reveal casual dress and trying to blend in with the local citizenry. Not surprisingly, those who are captured in their casual dress are being slaughtered.

Two men are responsible for this disaster, President Obama and Prime Minister Maliki. Standing together in the White House in a December 2011 ceremony, the president made good on his promise. We were leaving Iraq. Prime Minister Maliki was triumphal. He had no worries. Iraq was a happy sovereign state under his leadership. Of course, in the months ahead he reneged on all his promises to share power with the Sunnis and the Kurds. The result of these two foolish men's dithering, and in Maliki's case, evading his responsibilities to the Kurds and the Sunnis, we are seeing today.

Retired General John M. Keane explained brilliantly to the Washington Times on Monday what has allowed a small force of well-equipped terrorists to invest Iraq this week: Up until late in 2011, "We had all our intelligence capability there. We knew where the enemy was. We were flying drones. We're tracking them. We have signals intelligence pouring in, eavesdropping on phone conversations and the rest of it. We're using our counter-terrorism forces to bang against these guys. We're passing that information to the Iraqis so their commandos can do the same." Keane expounded, "On a given day ... that screen went blank."

President Obama led from behind.


Tuesday, in the Wall Street Journal, General Keane spoke out again. It is not too late to stop ISIS from becoming a conquering army. He counsels bringing in "intelligence architecture" to turn on the intelligence screens that, of a sudden, went blank in Iraq in 2011. Send in "planners and advisors" who will advise "down to division level where units are still viable." Strike with "counter-terrorism" because "Special operations forces should be employed clandestinely to attack high value ISIS targets," ISIS leaders. Finally General Keane advises using "air power," which "alone cannot win a war" but can make it nigh unto impossible for ISIS members to stick their heads out of the sand.

General Keane is my kind of general. He is full of fight and has a strategic plan. Our problem is the guy in the White House.

Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator.

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast