Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 6, 2014 / 4 Adar II, 5774

Ukraine and the Return of the KGB

By Bob Tyrrell



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Regarding our community activist's present imbroglio with President Vladimir Putin of Russia, I stand with Donald Trump who said recently: "The thing I have the most concern about is that he's being so lambasted for not being respected, and for being a joke, that he'll do something really stupid to show that he's a man."

We are now about where we were with Jimmy Carter after he lectured his fellow citizens about their so-called "inordinate fear of communism" even as the Soviet Union was spreading its tentacles over the Third World. His sudden turnaround — caused by Soviet aggression in Afghanistan — from a position of sweet reason to the pose of a hawk alarmed me and doubtless alarmed the Russians. Jimmy began the military build-up that a more gifted statesman, President Ronald Reagan, consummated in pursuit of a peaceful ending of the Cold War. Yet while Jimmy resided in the White House, I was uneasy with the sudden anti-communism of this moralistic twerp. Most probably Donald was, too. Now we have to worry about the intolerable greenhorn Barack Obama. What will he do next?

He came into the White House promising to turn his back on some forty years of history. To him the Cold War was a foolish waste of resources that could have been better spent on the kind of things community activists spend government resources on: in the main, booty for their friends.

He famously "reset" the administration's policy with Russia, to use Secretary of State's Hillary Clinton's pert term for their demarche. He abandoned a missile-defense agreement with Poland and the Czech Republic. He abruptly pulled out of Iraq and began planning his withdrawal from Afghanistan. Continuing his imbecilic "reset" project with Russia, he was embarrassingly overheard — by the whole wide world — confiding to the then-Russian President Dmitry Medvedev that he would have "more flexibility" on missile defense after his re-election. "I'll transmit this information to Vladimir," Medvedev replied. Did Jimmy Carter ever make such a faux pas?

More recently he has frivoled as Iran approaches achieving the atomic bomb. He backed down on his "red line" with Syria, and, of course, he announced scaling down our military to pre-World War II size. All of this he did because, in the ideological world of community activists, American foreign policy has for two generations been such a disaster. That was until just last week when a former KGB officer by the name of Putin ordered Russian troops into Crimea, possibly beginning another Cold War, certainly beginning again an era of hostilities between Russia and the West, with China mulling over its opportunities. Now, who knows what a community activist thinks?


A few months ago, I came across the name Vitaly Churkin once again. I had my own encounter with a Vitaly Churkin back in 1987 when the world's media was echoing with disparagements of President Reagan's intellect and denunciations of him as a war hawk. Today's Vitaly Churkin is the suave Russian ambassador to the United Nations. Vitaly Churkin of 1987 was a vitriolic spokesman for the USSR's embassy in Washington. Could they be one and the same?

In 1987, I came home from what had been a heated televised debate with a man named Churkin only to be informed by the brave Soviet dissident then staying at my home, Vladimir Bukovsky, that I had appeared on television with a well-known KGB officer and "you did good, Bawb." I wondered why my adversary had taken such strong exception when I compared Nazi Germany to his motherland. When I looked up today's Churkin in Wikipedia, a Feb. 22 New York Times feature, and other sources, I could find no mention of his KGB past. Yet from further research it became obvious that they are the very same: once a Churkin, always a Churkin. How soon Wikipedia, the Times, and other contemporary sources forget even one's KGB connections.

Today's younger generations — the computer-savvy youth, the middle-aged politicians — seem to believe that the past is dead and buried. Yet history has a way of enduring and becoming episodically relevant again. So it has with the return of the KGB in Russia. I am reminded of another of my peers who had some dealings with Putin and possibly with Churkin, former head of the CIA and the Pentagon, Bob Gates. He said recently that, "I had looked into Putin's eyes and I saw a stone-cold killer." What did Barack Obama think he saw?

Archives

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator.

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast