Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 5, 2009 / 11 Shevat 5769

Obama's first two weeks

By Bob Tyrrell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Egads, it is going to be a long four years! It has been only two weeks since the Prophet Obama's inauguration, and already he has revived memories of Boy Clinton's first 100 days. Political observers with a sense of history might well ask whether the Obama administration will approximate the adolescent incompetence of the Clinton administration or the Pecksniffian pratfalls of the Carter administration. Presidential historian that I am, allow me to caution my fellow citizens that here in the vestibule of the Obama administration, it is probably too early to say. Yet with the economy in crisis and American national security in the hands of a starry-eyed novice, one can argue that we are in for a reprise of the Carter years, complete with the self-righteous pout.


I had wanted to suspend criticism of our incoming president for a few months until his bungling became obvious. As I wrote during the campaign, it is inconceivable that a modern-day president with only four years in the Senate (and but three terms in a state legislature) could be equal to the demands of this high office. Still, I thought it would take a few months for President Barack Obama to reveal his ineptitude. Well, it only took two weeks. In the areas of foreign policy, fiscal policy and now appointments, it is apparent that 52.9 percent of the electorate vouchsafed us a dud. Vice President Joe Biden, stay close to Washington! Yet wait; this six-term senator has had no executive experience, either. To whom can we turn to administer the federal government?


I know there are conservatives who believe that by 2012, the republic can be saved by the pulchritudinous governor of Alaska. Admittedly, Gov. Palin, having been in office two years and served as mayor of Wasilla before that, has more executive experience than either the president or the vice president, but four years is a long time to wait for the curvaceous governor to deliver us. Withal, I have almost as many doubts about her as I have about President Obama, which brings to mind my growing awareness during the 2008 election that our political class at the national level is distinctly second-rate.


The mediocrity of our national leaders, truth be told, has been apparent since the first baby boomer replaced the last member of the World War II generation in the White House. President Bill Clinton's unreadiness for the presidency was obvious during his first campaign, as he flailed his way through the Gennifer Flowers controversy, his draft-dodging stratagems, and all the other lies he had to confront. Then his unreadiness was observable anew immediately following his election, with his appointment snafus, and it is eerie to think that some of his failed appointments had the same problems President Obama's now have, to wit, employing domestic help (in Clinton's day, illegal domestic help) and failing to pay taxes.


Actually, the problems President Obama has had with his appointments are more egregious than President Clinton's. Mr. Obama nominated New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson apparently not knowing that Richardson was under grand jury investigation. He nominated for secretary of treasury and for secretary of health and human services two men whose tax problems suggest that evading taxes is commonplace among prominent Democrats. The problem that forced President Obama's nominee for the new — and may I say purely ceremonial — position of chief performance officer demonstrates that high-level Democrats still have difficulty paying taxes on their domestic staffs. Then there are the two lobbyists President Obama brought into his government at the Pentagon and at the Department of Health and Human Services despite bragging that his newly adopted ethics rules against lobbyists are the strictest in American history. Explained the White House press secretary, "Even the toughest rules require reasonable exceptions." Yes, and a few more such exceptions and President Obama's tough rules will be rules no longer.


Finally, turn to the problems President Obama now faces with his so-called stimulus bill. It is a mountain range of pork created by wantonly spendthrift Democrats defiant of any economic stimulus theory, Keynesian or otherwise. Even President Obama is backing away from some of it, for instance, its "Buy American" provisions. Obviously, our presidential novice was had by Washington's special interests. In the area of foreign policy, he has been had by his own self-righteous meddling. This week, the Indians warned him that he is "barking up the wrong tree" in involving himself in their dispute with Pakistan over Kashmir. The Iranians were even ruder in responding to his offer of talks with them. They simply mocked him. Said the Iranian spokesman, Gholam Hossein Elham, "This request means Western ideology has become passive." Frankly, I can understand the chap's playful mood. The Iranians are celebrating the 30th anniversary of the fall of the shah. That happened, if memory serves, during the Carter administration. Again, it is going to be a long four years.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles