Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 16, 2014/ 15 Shevat, 5774

Bob Gates and Politics

By Bob Tyrrell



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You will perhaps forgive me if I have found all this bellyaching about retired Secretary of Defense Bob Gates' so-called indiscretion, indignation and candor a bit hard to take. I first got to know Bob in the early 1980s, thanks to Bill Casey. Through all these years, Bob has not changed fundamentally. What has changed is Washington. It is more politicized, with especially shallow and parochial politics, and it is in need of candor, indignation and even moments of indiscretion. Bob did not let the country down when he wrote his memoir, "Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary of Defense."

In the 1970s, and until his death in 1987, Bill Casey was my friend, advisor and occasionally my lawyer. Until his death, he was director of the CIA after serving as campaign director of the Reagan campaign in the 1980s. I helped him in minor ways during the Reagan campaign, most notably with getting candidate Ronald Reagan meetings with European intellectuals. When Bill took the helm at Langley, he continued our friendship. We would meet in New York at 21 and at his capacious office in Langley. I doubt there was ever a head of the CIA who relished his job more or, for that matter, was more effective. One day over lunch he told me he was just back from the Middle East where he had developed a stomach indisposition. But he smiled tapping his embattled paunch, "I've just arranged stingers for the Afghan resistance." He was not talking about cocktails.

Early in his tenure at the CIA, he told me he was going to have me over for lunch to meet the "brightest young man" he had encountered in many a moon, and so Bob Gates joined us for lunch. A rising figure at the agency, Bob had become Bill's Deputy Director. He had earned a master's degree in Russian History at Indiana University about the time I had earned my master's degree in American Diplomatic History at I.U. Bob went on the get his Ph.D. in Russian and Soviet History from Georgetown and began his steady climb through ranks at the agency, eventually becoming, like Bill, director.

We became friends from that lunch onward and stayed in touch during his tenure as director of the CIA under George H.W. Bush. I had him and his wife to the house and, if memory serves, sat him down with my journalistic friends at one of our regular sessions of what we called the Saturday Evening Club. I have always kept a diary, and, in 1992, when President Bush included me amongst his guests at a reception for Boris Yeltsin, I noted that Gates had briefed me on Yeltsin. Russia, he said, was uncertain of itself after the fall of the Iron Curtain. It was "finding a place for itself in the world." Inspired by Bob to take a crack at statecraft, I, when introduced to Yeltsin, complimented him on Russia's incomparable literary tradition. I mentioned Dostoyevsky. Yeltsin seemed pleased.



I see that Bob has, this week, claimed he felt the historian's obligation to write his memoir accurately and to pull no punches. I think he has succeeded, though when he says that Hillary has a winning sense of humor I would have to see what she was laughing at. Possibly it was what close psychiatrists call a nervous laugh. Over dinner with me and with my colleague Wladyslaw Pleszczynski (another I. U. educated historian) in the 1980s and early 1990s, Bob would often talk of history. He had the same impatience with politics that he has shown in his memoir, and I take him at his word, though not completely.

When he was first nominated as director of the CIA in 1987, he saw his nomination become embroiled in the Iran-Contra scandal. He withdrew it. President George H. W. Bush nominated him again in 1991, and the Senate confirmed him. Later, after a break from government service, he served both George W. Bush and Barack Obama as Secretary of Defense and waged two wars, one in Iraq and one in Afghanistan. Bob may not particularly like politics, but he knows how to handle politicians. I think he has done it well for the good of the country.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast