CONTROVERSY!

Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 24, 2003 / 29 Mar-Cheshvan, 5764

It's not 1938, but anti-Semitic violence should cause us to focus on the war against terror

By Jonathan Tobin


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



http://www.jewishworldreview.com | It doesn't take much to panic Jews. After 2,000 years of dispersion, persecutions, Crusades, Inquisitions and a Holocaust, we tend to be a skittish sort, even in placid times.


For American Jews, the past few decades have been a time of unprecedented prosperity and achievement. Though hatred for Jews still exists here, its presence is mostly beneath the radar. Most young Jews growing up in today's suburbs can easily go through childhood and adolescence without ever encountering an instance of anti-Semitism.


But in the absence of real threats, some of us often inflate minor issues into major wars. For some of us, any slight is a precursor of another Kristallnacht.


Some hysterical Jewish liberals are always ready to see the electoral triumphs of conservative Republicans as a replay of the end of the Weimar Republic. Others will point to the existence of a handful of extremist fruitcakes wandering the forests of Idaho as a mortal peril, both to democracy and our own lives.


Too many of us prefer to focus on such nonsense rather than on the real problems of American Jewry, which have more to do with our own ignorance of our heritage, added to our communal inability or unwillingness to allocate sufficient resources to fund Jewish educational programs. Chasing the ghosts of past nightmares is easier than confronting our own shortcomings.


But as much as most of us are thoroughly insulated from our history of past suffering, it is getting harder and harder to ignore the sound of anti-Semitism and anti-Jewish violence that is being heard elsewhere in the world.

DON'T TURN AWAY!

Most of us will see the footage on television of the bombings of synagogues in Turkey, the latest anti-Semitic outrages in France, or even read about the snubs of Israeli scholars in Britain and cluck sympathetically.

Donate to JWR

We will see pictures of terror attacks in Israel and read the stories of the victims' suffering with appropriate horror.


Some of will even hear about the hate for Jews and Israel that is being promulgated in the Arab and Muslim world, and shake our heads in dismay. We will wonder how so many could allow themselves to be diverted from the serious problems created by their own undemocratic governments by the drumbeat of hate against Jews.


But then we turn away, and sink complacently back into our own lives without wondering what any of this means for us. The alarm bells about worldwide anti-Semitism should be sounding loud and clear.


It's time to put these events in some coherent perspective. Far from isolated examples of extremism, the rise of anti-Semitism in Europe is part of the same problem as the nonstop incitement against Jews in the Arab world. Just as Nazi propaganda led to the violence of the Holocaust, the current wave of anti-Jewish violence is direct result of incitement that has spread from Arab countries to European capitals. The delegitimization of Israel has spread from the back allies of Cairo to the boulevards of Paris and Brussels. And the result is a rise in attacks on anything that bears the label "Jew."


There are those who prefer to believe that the calumnies against Jews and the State of Israel are merely the byproduct of incorrect policies. These rationalizers of anti-Semitism, such as New York Times columnist Paul Krugman and billionaire financier George Soros, prefer to think that it is all the fault of the current government of Israel and the Bush administration.


But this point of view gets it backward.


The same sources of hate for Jews are creating the abuse of America that causes too many in the Muslim world to cheer events such as the Sept. 11 terror attacks. Even more importantly, we need to realize that this war on Jews is not separate from the terrorist war against America that is symbolized by those attacks. The anger at Bush and Sharon stems not from their supposed "aggression" against Muslims, but from the fact that both have come to symbolize resistance against the terror that world produced.


As much as some in this country would like to pretend that we can fight Al Qaeda without also confronting those who would destroy Israel, the truth is, that is impossible. So, too, is it impossible for us to separate the rise of anti-Semitism from the hate bubbling up against America.


But as serious as the situation is, those who ask if we are being transported through time back to the 1930s are making a mistake.


This is not 1938. Then, the Jews were powerless as they watched a feckless West stand by with indifference while hatred consumed European Jewry. That's no longer the case. For all of its imperfections and failures, the existence of a sovereign State of Israel alters the equation in our favor.


Just as important as that is the fact that in the United States, we currently have a government that is, in contrast to our "allies" in Europe, not interested in appeasing an ideology of hate. Perhaps that is because this time, the enemy didn't wait to attack America until after the process of trying to eliminate the Jews had begun. This time, Pearl Harbor preceded Kristallnacht.


The result is an America led by a a president who seems to be willing to take on not only the terrorists and those who aid them, but also the ideology that props up their war against Israel and the United States.


That's why Bush's speech earlier this month directly challenging the Arab world to embrace democracy was so important. The administration appears to understand, as should we, that the path to winning the war against terror lies not in altering America's policies, but in the Muslim and Arab world transforming itself and adopting the values of democracy.


We have no way of knowing how successful this effort will be, or whether or not Washington will ultimately falter in its resolve. But let us not misunderstand either the danger or the necessity to support such initiatives.


What we in the United States call the "war on terror" is inseparable from the war on Jews and Israel that is simultaneously being waged around the world.


You don't have to agree with everything U.S. President George W. Bush or Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon stand for to understand that the war on terror that they are both waging is essential to our survival. The forces responsible for the terror of 9/11, the attacks in Turkey, in Paris and, yes, on the streets of Jerusalem, are, for all intents and purposes, one and the same. And if a lack of resolution on the part of America ever leads to new triumphs for the forces of terrorism, then all our lives will truly be in jeopardy.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jonathan S. Tobin is executive editor of the Philadelphia Jewish Exponent. Let him know what you think by clicking here. In June, Mr. Tobin won first places honors in the American Jewish Press Association's Louis Rapaport Award for Excellence in Commentary as well as the Philadelphia Press Association's Media Award for top weekly columnist. Both competitions were for articles written in the year 2002.

Jonathan Tobin Archives


© 2003, Jonathan Tobin