Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 22, 2008 / 16 Adar I 5768

We don't need less plagiarism. We need more

By Steve Young


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Sure, I stole it. But isn't that the point? That's what it's there for. Barack Obama uses a line or two from someone else and all of a sudden it's a big campaign story. But should it be a story at all?


Plagiarism is such a fuzzy area. Just because someone once used it, doesn't mean it can't be used again. Ask Sylvester Stallone. Ask any network executive who ever pitched a sitcom idea. Do you think Gary Marshall said, "I call it Laverne & Shirley and it's an exact ripoff of I Love Lucy. Of course not. Why? Because it's American capitalism at its best. Oh, we may change a word or two, but since when is recycling bad. It's not stealing. It's protecting the environment.


The point is, we don't need less plagiarism. We need more. Certain phrases have said it better than it can be ever said again, so why settle on second best? Certainly we wouldn't want second best from our leaders. "Fool me once..... shame on... uhh... you can't....er...ummm....ya can't fool me again..."


Imagine if something like that came out of the mouth of our Commander in Chief?


So, as the campaign marches on and one administration replaces another, let us bathe, not in the darkness of staid and weak phrasing, but in the glory of greatness. From the first announcement into the 2008 race to inauguration day 2009, I give you, political plagiarism at it's copy infringement best; how it could have been and can still be the most quoted campaign season ever. And if you don't like it, frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn.


I see dead people.
—Candidates describing how they'll win Chicago.

I'll get you my pretty...and your little wife too.
—Clinton to Obama

You had me at hello.
—Oprah to Obama

Well, here's another fine mess you've gotten me into.
—Hillary to Bill

Here's Johnny!
—McCain's intro at the Republican Convention

This is for all the lonely people.
—Mike Gravel rationalizing his continued run

I'm gonna make him an offer he can't refuse.
—McCain suggesting a cabinet post to Romney if he drops out

Shaken, not stirred.
—Dick Morris describing the enthusiasm in the Clinton camp

Houston, we have a problem
—Clinton during Texas Primary

What if I say I'm not like the others.
—Ralph Nader considering another run

Listen to me, mister. You're my knight in shining armor. Don't you forget it. You're going to get back on that horse, and I'm going to be right behind you, holding on tight, and away we're gonna go, go, go!
—Mrs. Nader

All the world is a stage...Nothing can come of nothing
—Fred Thompson explaining why he entered the presidential race and why he quit.

Say hello to my little friend.
—Elizabeth Kucinich introducing her husband

I am big. It's the picture that got small.
—Dennis Kucinich

Plastics.
—Joe Biden describing how he was holding his campaign together.

Show me the money.
—Every candidate

Keep your friends close but your enemies closer.
—McCain agreeing to be a guest on Sean Hannity's show

Power corrupts. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.
—Dick Cheney promoting the benefits of his last 6 years.

A plague on both your houses.
— Rush Limbaugh

Never interrupt your enemy when he's making a mistake.
—Obama referring to Bill Clinton

They're he—re.
—Hillary Clinton introducing her Super Delegates

I'll have what she's having.
—Bill Clinton during Hillary Clinton swearing in.

Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall!
—George W. Bush at the Wailing Wall

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Steve Young is an award-winning TV writer and author of "Great Failures of the Extremely Successful". Comment by clicking here.



© 2008, Steve Young

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles