Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 4, 2010 / 26 Tishrei, 5771

T It's a refudiation, not a recovery

By Wesley Pruden




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | This was supposed to be Recovery Summer, with all the good thingsBarack Obama has been doing to stimulate the economy finally kicking in to create jobs, jobs, jobs, to cool the planet, cure all ills and diseases and rid the world of skeeters, chiggers and maybe even bedbugs. The president, to be fair, never quite promised those things, but he left the impression that he could do all that and more when he wants to. But all this messiah has made so far is a mess.

Recovery has become retribution, with recriminations leading to lust for repudiation. All the rant and rave, if the polls are within a country mile of telling it like it is, is building toward a rout of remarkable proportions. Recession remains with us, despite Democratic invocation of the famous Aiken rule, set out by the late Sen. George Aiken of Vermont to quiet the domestic tumult of the Vietnam War: Declare victory and come home.

By plane, train, bus and automobile, Congress got out of town en masse Thursday, scattering to what one Republican pollster calls "the killing fields" waiting for them back home. Nancy Pelosi is so embattled that even armed with her large majority, she had to cast the speaker's vote to adjourn the House, and prevailed by only a single vote.

President Obama, told by many Democratic congressmen to please stay out of their districts, continued his "backyard campaign" across Middle America, trying to find his mojo. He drew a large crowd to a rally at theUniversity of Wisconsin, traditionally the home of boys and girls in unwashed black turtleneck sweaters, pretending to be Marxists on their daddies' capitalist dimes (and many dollars). He offered the usual rant, that Republicans are bad and that he couldn't be the anti-Christ, because George W. Bush is.

The president is getting an earful, with questions respectful but unusually brisk. Most of the questioners are no doubt Democrats, collected by presidential advance men who know how to arrange a friendly crowd, but some of the backyard burghers sound as if they had come straight from the tea party. One man confronted him with a question about the tax increases coming with the expiration of George W.'s tax cuts. The president responded with a presidential version of the argument traditionally used by mayors under fire for mismanaging municipal finances. "All right," His Honor would say, "we'll close the orphanage."

The president acknowledged that Americans don't want to pay more taxes, but complain about the deficit that has stalled the mighty job-making machine that was only yesterday the envy of the rest of the world.

"Most of the spending is for veterans, for education, for defense," the president said. "Foreign aid is 1 percent of our budget. They say, 'Why don't you eliminate earmarks, all those pork projects that Congress wants to spend?' Even if I could end all those earmarks, that's 1 percent of budget."

The president turned theological, or at least philosophical, with answers to questions about his religious faith, speaking with an ease that ought to put to rest the accusation that he is a secret Muslim.

"I'm a Christian by choice," the president told a voter in the Middle West. "My family, frankly, weren't folks who went to church every week. My mother was one of the most spiritual people I knew but she didn't raise me in the church, so I came to my Christian faith later in life and it was because the precepts of Jesus Christ spoke to me in terms of the kind of life I would want to lead. Being my brothers' and sisters' keeper, treating others as they would treat me, and I think understanding that Jesus Christ dying for my sins spoke to the humility we all have to have as human beings, that we're sinful and we're flawed and we make mistakes and we achieve salvation through the grace of God. But what we can do, as flawed as we are, is still see God in other people, and do our best to help them find their own grace. That's what I strive to do, that's what I pray to do every day."

That's enough to curdle the skim milk in the coffee in the president's left-wing base, where intolerant atheism and aggressive secularism are the only approved faiths. Mr. Obama's answer could pass muster at many Pentecostal testimony meetings. But it's still the economy, stupid, and the performance of Mr. Obama and his partisans have indelibly defined him, and them, as something most Americans just don't want. That's how we got to Refudiation Summer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor emeritus of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles