Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 27, 2010 / 17 Elul, 5770

The lonely lives of fruit inspectors

By Wesley Pruden




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You don't have to be a "mainline" Christian cleric who preaches to empty pews to think the angry skepticism of Barack Obama's faith has gone a rant too far. But it helps.

A group of these clergypersons got together this week to sign a letter to their congregations and whoever else might read it to stop "misrepresenting" the president's faith. Brave as these worthies are, they can't quite bring themselves to say what it is, exactly, they object to, since to say it plain might offend the followers of Mohammed. But they're talking about the claim that the president is a secret or not-so-secret Muslim. (At this point the politically correct thing to say is, "not there's anything wrong with that.") One recent poll suggests that 1 in 5 Americans say Mecca is where the president's heart is.

"As Christian leaders whose primary responsibility is sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ with our congregations, our communities and our world," the clergypersons wrote, "we are deeply troubled by the recent questioning of President Obama's faith. We understand that these are contentious times, but the personal faith of our leaders should not be up for public debate."

Well, that's close. The right of a president to embrace any faith he pleases should not be up for public debate, but any president understands, or learns to his pain, that the people he asked to elect him are entitled to ask about anything and everything, and decide accordingly. Boxers or briefs, girlfriends or golf scores, paper or plastic. There are no dumb questions, only dumb answers. The debate over Mr. Obama's faith is not even unprecedented. Many of our presidents left questions about their faith unanswered, even whether they had any.

Several of our most revered founding fathers professed a lack of faith that should disappoint some of Mr. Obama's severest religious critics. John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe and Abraham Lincoln, for examples, held Jesus Christ in reverence but not in sovereign majesty as the Son of G0d. John Quincy Adams was a founding member of the First Unitarian Church in Washington but preferred Presbyterian and Episcopal sermons. He called himself "a church-going animal." But at the end of his life he wrote to a friend: "I reverence G0d as my creator. As creator of the world. I reverence him with holy fear. I venerate Jesus Christ as my redeemer; and as far as I can understand, the redeemer of the world. But this belief is dark and dubious."

Mr. Obama, on the other hand, has offered testimony to his Christian faith that could pass muster at an evangelical prayer meeting, where believers are often invited to "give your testimony." To an interviewer from Christianity Today magazine only two years ago, Mr. Obama spoke of his most intimate beliefs and how he came to hold them: "I am a Christian, and I am a devout Christian. I believe in the redemptive death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. I believe that faith gives me a path to be cleansed of sin and have eternal life. But most importantly, I believe in the example that Jesus set by feeding the hungry and healing the sick and always prioritizing the least of these over the powerful. I didn't 'fall out in church,' as they say, but there was a very strong awakening in me of the importance of these issues in my life. I didn't want to walk alone on this journey. Accepting Jesus Christ in my life has been a powerful guide for my conduct, my values and my ideals."

Many believers, passing lightly over Christ's admonition not to judge others lest they be judged, but eagerly embracing the Scripture that a tree is known by the fruit it bears, are ready to become fruit inspectors. They judge some of the fruit to be strange indeed. Exhibit No. 1 is Mr. Obama's affiliation with the Rev. Jeremiah Wright in Chicago, where the president sat in a pew at Trinity United Church of Christ for 20 years listening to the pastor's rants against white folks, Jews and his native land. Exhibit No. 2 is the president's obsession with abasing himself, and the people who elected him, with craven apologies to the Islamic world for sins he imagines America to be guilty of.

However, he has offered an eloquent description of his faith, which is neither dark nor dubious. There are enough arguments over politics, policy and the alien agenda for changing America to keep us busy from now until Nov. 6, 2012. Weighing Mr. Obama's job performance is right and proper, but measuring his faith is G0d's business, and G0d doesn't need any help from us.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor emeritus of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles