Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 4, 2011 / 28 Adar I, 5771

When Jane Russell came to lunch

By Wesley Pruden




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Jane Russell, who died this week at 89, was one of the last grown-ups in Hollywood, from a time when celebrating love of country was not a felony and a conservative Republican was not an endangered California species.

She was one of the last iconic movie stars, a playful actress in movies for adults before "adult" became a five-letter word for "pornographic." She had an incisive interest in politics and an instinct for the authentic, unusual then and now for the Hollywood glitterati, as I learned one day in the previous decade when she was in town to speak to the Conservative Political Action Committee's annual talkfest about life in the movies, and she called to invite me to lunch. I invited her to lunch at The Washington Times instead. She wanted me to dish about the thrilling John Kerry and the exciting Nancy Pelosi, to offer insights into foreign policy and perceptions of our native pols. I wanted her to dish about Jane and Marilyn, who lit up the silver screen together in the movie musical "Gentlemen Prefer Blondes."

Jane was long gone from the sound stages and Hollywood high life. She arrived dressed in a matronly black dress with a lacy white collar up to her chin, with no hint of the famous decolletage that turned Hollywood on its ear and set off an angry debate, spiced by the wisecracks of a thousand radio comedians, over how far the movies could go. Was there any line left for Hollywood to cross? How quaintly innocent it all seems 50 years on, with vulgarity reigning unchallenged and all the "lines" the movies wouldn't dare cross long since painted out. Now there's a Baptist preacher who plays rock guitar in Jerry Falwell's old pulpit and dreams of playing top banana at the White House.

The contretemps over Jane Russell in Howard Hughes' movie "The Outlaw," an imaginative tale about Billy the Kid, is difficult to comprehend now. She was filmed tucking herself into bed, fully clothed, to relieve the chill of the gravely wounded Billy. The publicity chills of Jane perched atop bales of hay in Daisy Mae's blouse, cut low almost to the equator as if the dressmaker had run out of calico, became a pin-up for millions of homesick GIs in North Africa and the South Pacific to remind them of, they should be so lucky, the girl back home.

Jane Russell circa 1943 was to boobs what Betty Grable was to gams — ironic because the Russell gams were equally spectacular. Bob Hope once introduced her as "the two and only Jane Russell," and on another occasion defined high culture as "the ability to describe Jane Russell without using your hands." Teenage men of all ages were further titillated by the story that Howard Hughes had invented a cantilevered bra to enhance the Russell assets. "He designed it," she told me over the lunch of breast of chicken, "but I never wore it and he never noticed. He was better at designing airplanes."

Nevertheless, Miss Russell, a shrewd businesswoman, became a television pitchwoman for a brassiere "for us full-figured gals" and her "living bra" was the biggest seller for Playtex until she was well into her 80s. By this time she had returned to music, having once been a torch singer. A devout born-again Christian in all the years she lived and worked in the belly of the beast, she once organized a Gospel quartet with three other women she met at a church social, later joined by actress Rhonda Fleming, and their song, "Do Lord" (" . . . do Lord, oh do Lord, O do remember me . . .") reached the top of the Billboard charts and sold 2 million records.

Midway through our lunch, Jane frowned. "This is a very enlightening lunch," she said, "but you're not like your column. Your column is really funny, but in person you aren't very funny."

"Well, when you accepted my invitation to lunch I gave my writers the day off."

"That's a little better," she said, still not smiling. "Look," I said, "I grew up in Little Rock, and after watching you and Marilyn sing about being 'two little girls from Little Rock, from the wrong side of the tracks,' I hurried back home and drove across every railroad track I could remember. I couldn't find anyone who looked remotely like you or Marilyn."

She replaced the frown with the dazzling smile I remembered from nights dreaming in the dark at the Arkansas Theater on Louisiana Street. "Well," she said, "now that's really funny."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor emeritus of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles