Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Every Monday Matters: Read a book

By Matthew Emerzian and Kelly Bozza




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) 1 in 4 Americans don't read a single book per year, while the average person reads 7.

More than half of today's adults are literary readers, meaning they read novels, mysteries, contemporary and classic fiction, short stories, plays, or poetry.

Leisure reading has increased 10 percent over the last 6 years for all ethnicities.

58 percent of women read for leisure compared to 50 percent of men.

43 percent of all literary readers perform volunteer and charity work compared to 17 percent of non-literary readers. The more books people read the more active and involved they are in their communities through volunteerism, philanthropy, and politics.

Book buying constitutes less than 6 percent of total recreational spending while spending on music, videos, computers, and software constitutes roughly 25 percent.

TAKE ACTION TODAY
1. Read a book you've never read before. If you don't have one on your shelf, go to the library, local bookstore, or order one online.

2. Join a book club or start one with your friends or co-workers.

3. Give books to people as gifts.

Reading is like exercising — mental and physical benefits flourish with regular practice. Reading improves language skills, vocabulary and spelling skills; it introduces new ideas, perspectives and information; it staves off the effects of aging by keeping your mind active; it provides a vehicle for mental escape and creativity; and it relaxes, entertains, and inspires your soul. Take time out to read today.

YOU MATTER
Book sales are down. Way down. But it doesn't mean that people aren't reading. Actually, with the hundreds of millions of people constantly reading their text messages, personal and work emails, Facebook messages, and Tweets, reading has probably increased. Just not the kind of reading we are referring to here. Not the kind of reading that allows you to sit quietly and drift off to a faraway fictional land or learn something about history or business or relationships. This type of reading is a dying breed, yet it is such a vital part of us ... as both individuals and a culture. And for Nancy Rielsen of Salt Lake City, Utah, it is a part of her life that she will never give up.

A year ago, Nancy and a group of six women decided to start a book club. These were all mother's who would see one another at school events, practices, and birthday parties, but there only common bond was their children ... or so they thought.

"One day at our kids' soccer practice, I told two of my friends about a great book that I was reading and that simple comment started this whole thing," shared Nancy. "One of them had already read it and the other was just getting started. I was half way done. It sparked a 30-minute conversation about the book, which, in turn, led to even more."

Through their conversation, the three realized that they all loved to read but kind of "ran out of time" to do it as much as they would like.

"Being a mom gets pretty busy and it is so easy to drop everything you used to love doing," said Nancy. "Don't get me wrong, it is a labor of love and a privilege to be a mother, but I definitely have my moments when I miss the free time to do the things I love. Reading was one of those things."

A few days after their discussion at soccer practice, Nancy came up with the idea of starting a book club for her friends and any other moms that wanted to join.

"I just figured that if it was something we all did together, we could hold each other accountable to really doing it," said Nancy. "Plus I thought it would be fun and a great bonding thing for us."

It appears that Nancy tapped into something greater than she thought. The group started with six women. Some of the women loved reading, while others didn't at all, but there was something about doing it together and the sense of camaraderie that made it something they all wanted to do.

"We are having the best time with it," admitted Nancy. "We meet every Tuesday night for two hours. First we talk about the book we are reading and then we share everything under the sun. You know how we women aren't afraid to talk."

And now, in just one year, what was a book club of six, is now 15 women. Fifteen new best friends. Fifteen women who have found away to create something new ... something they love. Reading and friends matter.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.


Previously:



Listen, play, appreciate music
Create a back-to-school backpack
Your day
Thank a local law enforcement officer
Get involved with foster kids
Be neighborly
Donate blood and bone marrow
Protect yourself with Internet safety
Eat healthy
Learn CPR, the ‘ABCs of life’
Respect the disabled
Turn off your TV
Go exercise
Write a letter to a soldier
Thank a firefighter
Have fun with an elderly person
Traffic is overrated
Show your smile
Donate books
What matters most
Support Neighborhood Watch

© 2009, The Modesto Bee Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles