Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 21, 2011 / 25 Kislev, 5772

Supreme Court bans our seeing it in action

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I have often criticized the Supreme Court for continually refusing to allow TV cameras in its courtroom. That way, We The People can see and hear -- during oral arguments before the lofty nine with lifetime seats -- how they reach judgments that often affect our lives for years to come. Now that our highest court has decided to hear arguments on Obamacare -- which can indeed impact our health care and, for some of us, how long we are allowed to make medical decisions -- many Americans are anxious to get a sense of how the justices will arrive at their vote before the end of this term.

As Brian Lamb, chairman of C-SPAN, always eager to cover these vital proceedings, says: "If you can't do this in public and you're doing the public's business, then something is wrong with this picture" ("Supreme Court TV? Nice Idea, but Still Not Likely," Adam Liptak, The New York Times, Nov. 28).

I have been in the court's small press gallery in its very limited-seating courtroom. I have witnessed how these individuals in judicial robes will ultimately decide cases by seeing and hearing how they often pointedly disagree with one another as they ask questions of the lawyers before them.

And it is enlightening to get a sense of their personalities, their characters. How open are their minds to rational dissents from their long-held inner conclusions during these fateful high court procedures?

Over the years, some of the justices have claimed that the public just isn't equipped to understand the complexities of these cases. Justice Antonin Scalia, a very active and emotional participant in the oral arguments, has lectured us commonplace citizens:

"Law is a specialized field, fully comprehensible only to the expert" ("Cameras in the Courtroom: Television and the Pursuit of Justice," by Marjorie Cohn and David Dow, McFarland, 2011).

How many of us fellow citizens do you know well enough, Your Excellency, to arrogantly decide that we're too dumb to understand the basic rules of law in a self-governing constitutional republic?

You, Mr. Justice, are indeed an expert on the Constitution. So please tell us where in our founding document -- and in James Madison's detailed notes on the extensive debates in the 1787 Constitutional Convention -- you and your colleagues find summary justification for excluding us from these crucial deliberations in our court?

Years ago, during a televised debate on the PBS series "The Constitution: That Delicate Balance," moderated by Fred Friendly, who was Edward R. Murrow's former producer and close colleague, I was on a panel that included -- I am not jiving you -- Justice Scalia.

Should I have kept my mouth shut in questioning this panelist so far above my rank?

In their valuable book on "Cameras in the Courtroom" -- which I hope the publisher will send to teachers and department heads for use in classrooms -- Cohn and Dow make this rather scalding point that might embarrass some of the justices who bar us from their oral arguments:

"Every … justice is appointed to the bench for life, immunized from public pressures. They don't need television exposure to keep their jobs. They can enjoy power with near-anonymity …

"Why take chances with an impartial electronic witness that can beam your every slip-up, every excess, to thousands or millions of taxpaying spectators, all in the name of giving them greater access to their own court system?"

The late Justice William Brennan told me in his chambers that he disagreed with the majority of his then colleagues and welcomed the TV cameras in the courtroom. The reason, he noted, was that many Americans knew very little of how the court works, or how deeply widespread some of its rulings can be.

At the time, relatively few newspapers or radio and television stations covered the court with engaging depth and clarity. When a case first surfaced that appeared to have major importance, Justice Brennan wanted the press to report on it from the start so that Americans would have a full understanding of our legal procedures from the beginning.

That hasn't happened, of course. And with print news sources increasingly reduced for cost reasons and so much cable news devoted to inflammable opinion rather than legal analysis, even vital high court cases are not reported with enough lucidity. So Americans are getting only a brief, impressionistic understanding of the consequences of the justices' decision.

Contrary to Justice Scalia, that's not the fault of those of us who do want to be knowledgeable members of this self-governing nation.

Thomas Jefferson often warned future Americans that the ultimate guardians of our individual liberties would be us, the people. But we'd have to know what was going on -- especially at the Supreme Court:

"There is no danger I apprehend so much," Jefferson said, "as the consolidation of our government by the noiseless … instrumentality of the Supreme Court" (my column, "The Invisible Supreme Court," Jewish World Review, Dec. 2, 2003).

There was a poll taken years ago that asked Americans if they knew who the justices were. Only 5 percent at the time even knew of Justice Brennan. With a grim chuckle Brennan said to me, "Harry Blackmun got only 1 percent."

Right now, the historic Obama case is so important that the high court is devoting three days to oral arguments ("Supreme Court to Hear Health Care Case in Late March," Adam Liptak, The New York Times, Dec. 19).

But we citizens are forbidden to attend.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles