Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 7, 2011 / 11 Kislev, 5772

How many generations before U.S. is post-racial society?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I remember when the civil rights movement was cresting in the late 1950s -- not only in the South -- sitting at jazz concerts and other public events, linking hands with blacks and whites in the same row, some of whom I didn't know, as we were singing "We Shall Overcome."

We haven't overcome. I was a friend of Dr. Kenneth Clark, a psychologist and professor whose research contributed significantly to the Supreme Court's unanimous 1954 Brown v. Board of Education decision that racial segregation in the public schools was unconstitutional. Clark was jubilant that day. Young blacks, he told me, could "now be proud that they are Americans."

The high court, however, kept weakening the impact of that ruling until Clark, a strong integrationist, said to me toward the end of his life: "I feel my life has been wasted."

Here we are, entering a presidential election year, when Sam Dillon reports ("Districts Pay Less in Poor Schools, Report Says," The New York Times, Nov. 30): "Tens of thousands of schools serving (mostly black and Hispanic) low-income students are being shortchanged because districts (due to lawful residential segregation) spend fewer state and local dollars on teacher salaries in those schools than on salaries in schools serving higher-income students."

In most big cities, the public schools are very markedly racially segregated -- including where I live, New York City, whose self-anointed "education mayor," Michael Bloomberg, has said nary a word about this segregation that results in an increasing deep racial gap in students' achievements.

All too obviously, along with education, future prospects are dark -- not only for black citizens but also for so many others with grimly limited means and painfully few present and foreseeable resources.

Blacks lead the list of Americans feeling at a dead end. Reports the Nov. 28 New York Times: "Jobless rates among blacks have consistently been about double those of whites. In October, the black unemployment rate was 15.1 percent, compared with 8 percent for whites. Last summer, the black unemployment rate hit 16.7 percent, its highest level since 1984."

In the same Nov. 28 report, "As Public Sector Sheds Jobs, Blacks Are Hit Hardest," Timothy Williams focuses on a substantial reason for black unemployment that I have not been aware of. The New York Times should have put this hard-edged news on the front page that concerns "tens of thousands of once solidly middle-class African-American government workers -- bus drivers in Chicago, police officers and firefighters in Cleveland, nurses and doctors in Florida -- who have been laid off since the recession ended in June 2009."

For millions of Americans of various classes, including, for another example, government post office workers, the festering recession has not ended. The largely overlooked point that Williams makes is:

"Such (black) job losses have ... undermined the stability of neighborhoods where there are now fewer black professionals who own homes or who get up every morning to go to work."

This made me remember a conversation I had with Duke Ellington in the 1950s. The already internationally known composer and orchestra leader, whose music was often about his people's continuing history here, said to me:

"There are blacks working in the post offices who could have been Ph.D.s -- if the way there was possible for them. But most importantly now, they do have these jobs."

Williams quotes Robert H. Zieger, emeritus professor of history at the University of Florida and a scholar on race and labor:

"The reliance on these (government) jobs has provided African-Americans a path upward. But it is also a vulnerability."

In the past, a Dec. 4 New York Times editorial ("Pain in the Public Sector") emphasizes, "millions of African-Americans -- one in five who are employed -- have entered the middle class through government employment."

Further illustrating this vulnerability that Zieger describes is the rising number of government workers around the country, including blacks, who are being dismissed as local, state and federal governments strive to reduce their deficits.

Williams puts a human face on how blacks are hit hard by disappearing public sector jobs: "Pamela Sparks, 49, a 25-year Postal Service veteran in Baltimore, has a brother who is a letter carrier and a sister who is a sales associate at the Postal Service. Her father is a retired station manager."

"With our whole family working for the Post Office," she tells the Times, "it would be hard to help each other out because we'd all be out of work" in view of the acute financial crisis affecting the Postal Service.

And Don Buckley, the Times reports, is an unemployed Chicago Transit Authority bus driver who now lives in his mother's basement and "his mother, a Postal Service employee, (has) grown tired of him 'eating up all her food. She's ready for me to get up out of here.'"

When he was earning $23.76 an hour, says Buckley, "I was living the American dream. ... Then it crumbled."

On Sept. 12, on blackvoicenews.com, Marjorie Valbrun reports bitingly: "Recent public opinion polls show that more whites than African-Americans believe that the United States has entered a 'post-racial' era in which racial bias doesn't exist."

I haven't heard anyone sing "We Shall Overcome" for a long time.

How will our next president end the crumbling of the American dream for members of all of our races?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles