Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review December 4, 2013/ 1 Teves, 5774

Muslim girl's story reminds me of my anti-Semitic boyhood

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In the May 2013 issue of Teen Ink, a magazine I read regularly, Brooklyn teenager Isheta Khanom writes of "Being Muslim":

"People are afraid of me. Why are they afraid of me, you might ask? ...

"I'm a Muslim girl who was born and raised in Brooklyn. I'm turning 16 and starting my junior year in the fall. My parents are from Bangladesh. So, that's pretty much my bio.

"But there's a lot hiding behind that bio.

"The first thing people see is the Muslim part of me. Some of the stereotypes include that I don't speak English, (don't) know how to dress like an 'American,' am a terrorist ..."

But Isheta's proud of who she is and doesn't hide it: "I'm a practicing Muslim. I pray five times a day, stick to the rules, fast when it's time, and wear my hijab."

The hijab, Isheta says, is "otherwise known as a headscarf or veil, and of course, the derogatory terms, like towel head, diaper head, turban, and whatnot.

"Whatever it's called, it has a very important place in my life."

Later, she adds, "I can do all that because of the freedom granted by the First Amendment ...

"People think that the ideals presented in Islam are very different from American ideals. Actually, they aren't. And let me tell you something else. Muslims are all different races. They have different backgrounds but share the same book and abide by its rules. And isn't that true for Americans too? ...

"And it hurts me to see that even those in my (Brooklyn) community, who are so diverse, are prejudiced against me. Me, my religion, my hijab. And those are all my choices. The choices I made because I had the freedom.

"You can see that I am not doing anything to hurt people ...

"Making the right choice is not only about us, it's about everyone. The way someone thinks and the choices they make are so important.

"Who knows what the future holds? I already made my choice. Now it's your turn."



In New York, regarded by tourists worldwide as the most sophisticated of American cities, Isheta is far from alone in feeling under suspicion because of her religion. The Associated Press won a Pulitzer Prize last year for covering the New York Police Department's alliance with the CIA in secretly tracking Muslims essentially just for being Muslims: "Police systematically listened in on sermons, hung out at cafes and other public places, infiltrated colleges and photographed people as part of a broad effort to prevent terrorist attacks" ("AP wins Pulitzer for stories on NYPD spying," Deepti Hajela, The Associated Press, April 17, 2012).

Dig this: "Individuals and groups were monitored even when there was no evidence they were linked to terrorism." And we have not even been made aware of any evidence that has been revealed.

This happened in the same nation heralded by the Declaration of Independence?

Furthermore, New York City Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly, championed by Mayor Michael Bloomberg, continued to proudly assert that he and his police were well within the law.

His law?

These outcast lives, as suspects, experienced by Isheta Khanom and other innocent Muslims, brought me back to my own boyhood in Boston, where I grew up in the early 1940s.

There, Jewish immigrants from Eastern Europe, like my parents, were described by some descendants of the American Revolution -- such as Henry Brooks Adams, grandson of John Quincy Adams -- as "furtive Ysaac or Jacob ... snarling a weird Yiddish ... The Jew makes me creep" (my book, "Boston Boy," Paul Dry Books).

And I, like other Jewish boys in the ghetto, learned early that it could be hazardous to walk alone after dark, in or out of the ghetto, if we dressed or otherwise looked different from other Bostonians -- especially if we appeared to be Jewish offspring of the killers of Christ.

A national radio favorite for many Bostonians outside my ghetto at the time was Father Charles E. Coughlin, parish priest of the Shrine of the Little Flower in Royal Oak, Mich., and America's most beguilingly popular anti-Semite. He also published a newspaper, Social Justice, sold Sundays before each Mass, and everywhere else in town.

It seemed to me that we Jewish kids might be more at risk of having some of our teeth knocked out by young avengers of Christ's death soon after Social Justice was read and discussed by eager families.

Like one evening, after a storm, walking a couple of blocks from my home, I slipped and fell on the ice. Looking up, I was encircled by six or seven boys, maybe 15 or 16 years old.

"You hurt yourself, kid?" someone asked.

Then came the real question: "You Jewish, kid?"

I instantly became falsely irritated. "What do you mean, Jewish? I'm Greek. I just finished work at the drugstore in Grove Hall."

"He's a Hebe," snarled one of them. "Say something in Greek."

At Boston Latin School, we'd been reading "The Odyssey" in the original Greek, and I gave my interrogator the first paragraph in the language of the original.

"Sounds Greek to me," one of the gang snorted, so they walked off, leaving me on the ground. Another time, I didn't think fast enough and lost some front teeth.

The anti-Semitism was so tangible that, in the main part of Boston, there were stores I wouldn't go into. They didn't look like they took Jews. And I shared my parents' joy when, for the first time in Boston history, a Jew was elected to the City Council.

So, I feel a kinship with Isheta from Brooklyn. She's being even truer to herself than I was when I was a Greek. She still wears her hijab when she feels it should be worn. She prays five times a day. I don't pray at all, but, like her, I have the First Amendment at hand when needed.

How many American kids can say the First Amendment is part of their regular vocabulary?

New York will soon have a new police commissioner under a new mayor, Bill de Blasio, who has criticized a number of Raymond Kelly's suspensions of the Constitution. De Blasio, with whom I disagree on many other issues, should have Isheta present when he takes the oath of office, and ask her to say a few words about the nature of being an American.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast