Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 21, 2012/ 7 Kislev, 5773

Needed and possible: Second Declaration of Independence

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My spirits were temporarily lifted when, last week, the Washington, D.C.-based Daily Caller website reported "more than 675,000 digital signatures appeared on 69 separate secession petitions covering all 50 states, according to ... requests lodged with the White House's 'We the People' online petition system" ("White House 'secede' petitions reach 675,000 signatures, 50-state participation," David Martosko, dailycaller.com, Nov. 14).

Moreover, in various parts of the country, citizens infuriated for various reasons by the re-election of Barack Obama took their American flags from their porches or roofs and turned them upside down -- a traditionally emphatic sign of "distress" ("Upside Down Flag Protests Over Election Sparking Controversy," John Shumway, pittsburgh.cbslocal.com, Nov. 8).

As I expected, these stories quickly disappeared because, however inflamed such sweeping protests are, they have only fading rhetorical impact if they're empty of specific, substantive programs for actual change.

For example, the highly publicized "Occupy Wall Street" movement added a couple of phrases to our political language, but it did not come close to thwarting Obama's re-election or, as far as I can see, any local or federal laws in the land.

However, not all citizens have given up their identities as free, self-governing Americans. This is encouraging, despite the greatly expanding unilateral powers of the only president in our history who alone is judge, jury and executioner in deciding, for national security, what is permissible under the Constitution.

Now that Obama can do whatever he wants without any concern about maneuvering to compete in future elections, his decisions will not only deeply affect us for four more years, but may endure for generations.

Consider decisions he's made in his first term, such as his Supreme Court nominee, Elena Kagan.

As I shall demonstrate in this and future columns, while some unyielding members of Congress -- most notably Democratic Sen. Ron Wyden of Oregon (if only he, not Hillary Clinton, would run for president in 2016) -- will keep the Constitution alive, there aren't nearly enough of them. Our strongest hope for an authentic America is what's increasingly going on in certain American classrooms. This has been only barely covered in our media -- digital and traditional.

Supreme Court Justice William Brennan once urgently told me, "We must find how to make the Constitution's Bill of Rights part of the very lives of students!"

It's happening. I'll describe in later columns how more students are becoming active citizens in their own schools, neighborhoods, cities and states. They're learning what it is to be a continually debating, self-discovering American -- and eventually, they'll vote accordingly.

First, to underscore why this new generation and those that follow must push the Constitution back into our lives, we must recognize why a large percentage of American adults had so little interest in challenging the president's constitutional lawlessness during his first term. This lack of interest carried over to the presidential campaign.

Last year, the ABA Journal published an article that questioned our future as a self-governing democracy, citing Stephen Zack, then president of the American Bar Association, who documented that "two-thirds of all Americans can't correctly identify the three branches of government, and that three out of four people don't know that the Bill of Rights protects religious freedom."

That's for openers.

"It would be amusing," Zack gloomily told the journal, "if it weren't so tragic. But the sad fact is this is a pervasive problem that starts in the schools and permeates our entire society" ("Flunking Civics: Why America's Kids Know So Little," Mark Hansen, abajournal.com, May 1, 2011).

Since leaving the Supreme Court, former Justice Sandra Day O'Connor has devoted much of her time and energy to creating and supervising ways in which the Constitution does become a lively, fulfilling part of the lives of our nation's students. This is to ensure that they will not be as forgetful of their American identities and responsibilities as too many of their parents are.

The organization she co-chairs with former Congressman Lee Hamilton, Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools, co-authored a 2011 study with the University of Pennsylvania's Annenberg Public Policy Center, which found that "only one-third of Americans could name all three branches of government; one-third couldn't name any" ("Guardian of Democracy: The Civic Mission of Schools," civicmissionofschools.org).

In an article on the Student Press Law Center's website, Frank LoMonte followed up on the report, writing: "Asking people who have never learned foundational civics lessons to intelligently participate in elections (and in post-election governing) is like expecting a person who knows only one-third of the alphabet to write a novel" ("O'Connor civics commission draws a road map toward freedom of expression. Will schools follow it?" Frank LoMonte, splc.org, Oct. 14, 2011).

And so the widely circulated Daily Mail (U.K.) chortles at our stunning ignorance in this March 21, 2011, headline:

"What's the Constitution? Don't bother asking 70 percent of Americans: Alarming number of U.S. citizens don't know basic facts about their own country" (Rachel Quigley, dailymail.co.uk, March 21, 2011).

Next week: Despite the Daily Mail's assertions, more American students are learning these facts as they eagerly become active citizens in and out of class. Their understanding of real-life, real-time civics will protect all of us from any future Obama-style presidents who don't give a damn about our individual liberties, which are the very basis of our Constitution.

Patrick Henry used to shout: "Give me liberty or give me death!" But a lot of our newer generations -- and even some of us in the older ones -- ain't dead yet, despite Obama having won re-election!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles