Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 31, 2012/ 15 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

U.S. targeted kill lists for next generations?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I write this very shortly before we know who our next president will be. But an explosive Oct. 23 investigative report by the Washington Post's Greg Miller explains how President Barack Obama's administration may sharply upend our laws and values for years ahead:

"Over the past two years, the Obama administration has been secretly developing a new blueprint for pursuing terrorists, a next-generation targeting list called the 'disposition matrix'" ("Plan for hunting terrorists signals U.S. intends to keep adding names to kill lists," The Washington Post, Oct. 23).

Though it is a program of the Obama administration, former Gov. Mitt Romney, as I shall demonstrate, already agrees with a vital part of its essence.

A number of substantial news analysts, led by Glenn Greenwald, are following up on Miller's revelation. For example, Greenwald points out that Miller, after interviewing "'current and former officials from the White House and the Pentagon, as well as intelligence and counterterrorism agencies,'" comes to the significant conclusion that, as "'the United States' conventional wars are winding down,' the Obama administration 'expects to continue adding names to kill or capture lists for years'" ("Obama moves to make the War on Terror permanent," guardian.co.uk, Oct. 24).

But Greenwald digs deeper: "The 'capture' part of that list is little more than symbolic, as the U.S. focus is overwhelmingly on the 'kill' part."

Keep in mind the ever-increasing use of CIA pilotless drone killings of suspected terrorists and their families who come to bury them.

The Post's Miller writes of a further sign of the deaths to come (without any of the corpses having first appeared in our courts): "CIA Director David H. Petraeus is pushing for an expansion of the agency's fleet of armed drones."

When Petraeus was the head of the Multi-National Force in Iraq, I admiringly reported his having strongly commanded the troops that torture and any other brutal disregard of our values were forbidden. But now he is part of implementing this model for the next generation of kill lists.

And what does Mitt Romney think about this approach to terminally disposing of purported terrorists by ignoring our Constitution's due process, presumption of innocence and insistence on justice?

As I have reported, Romney is on the record as supporting, among other suspensions of our Constitution, the National Defense Authorization Act, championed by President Obama, that empowers the military to imprison, without a warrant and probable cause, American citizens somehow alleged to be partnered with terrorists ("Cheney Side of Romney on Torture et al." Oct. 17).

Then, during the last presidential debate, when moderator Bob Schieffer asked him, "What is your position on the use of drones?" Romney unhesitatingly answered:

"Well, I believe we should use any and all means necessary to take out people who are a threat to us and our friends around the world. And it's widely reported that drones are being used in drone strikes, and I support that and entirely, and feel the president was right to up the usage of that technology and believe that we should continue to use it, to continue to go after the people that represent a threat to this nation and to our friends."

Moreover, you can find the views of prospective target-killing commander-in-chief Romney in "Five Specific Questions Journalists Should Ask About the Drone Strike Policy" (Robert Naiman, huffingtonpost.com, Oct. 26).

Even if none of those people have a chance to be shown any of the government's evidence of the deadly charges against them in our courts.

So, as I said at the start, it may make no difference who is about to be celebrated as the president. Either way, he will have helped create an infamous place in world history for America as a nation of the most coldly insatiable official target-killers.

Whether these will be Obama or Romney "kill lists," how many Americans will be sufficiently moved -- now that the secret is out -- to assemble and act against this international genocide by their country?

Hina Shamsi, director of the American Civil Liberties Union's National Security Project, is ready:

"Tragic mistakes have been made, hundreds of civilian bystanders have died, and our government has even killed a 16-year-old U.S. citizen without acknowledging, let alone explaining, his death. A bureaucratized paramilitary killing program that targets people far from any battlefield is not just unlawful, it will create more enemies than it kills" ("ACLU Comment on Targeted Killing 'Disposition Matrix,'" aclu.org, Oct. 24).

On Oct. 24, Glenn Greenwald gave an additional update of where we are now on the Guardian's website: "Today, reports CNN, 'missiles blew up part of a compound Wednesday in northwest Pakistan, killing three people -- including one woman' and added: 'the latest suspected U.S. drone strike also injured two children.'

"Meanwhile, former Obama press secretary and current campaign adviser Robert Gibbs this week justified the U.S. killing of 16-year-old American Abdulrahman Awlaki, killed by a U.S. drone in Yemen two weeks after his father was, on the ground(s) that he 'should have (had) a far more responsible father.'"

Just a prelude to countless "due-process-free assassinations -- something the U.S. government clearly intends to convert into a permanent fixture of American political life" (Greenwald, guardian.co.uk, Oct. 24).

Don't you think you ought to warn your grandchildren about the kind of country they'll be part of?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles