Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 24, 2012/ 8 Mar-Cheshvan, 5773

Should pro-lifers bully pro-choicers?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I have personally experienced that pro-lifers are sometimes punishingly reprimanded for their act of conscience. For one example, in the 1980s, I declared for the first time that I had become a pro-lifer. Not on the basis of religion. My only religions are the Constitution and jazz -- both interconnected by full freedom of expression.

As I explained in my column then in New York's Village Voice, my reporting had caused me to conclude that once a fetus is viable, he or she is one of us. One result of that conclusion was that I lost a considerable percentage of my annual income.

For years, I had been on the college lecture circuit around the country, usually engaging students in debates on the First Amendment and the rest of the Bill of Rights, or jazz. Suddenly, the great majority of invitations to speak on campus stopped. To those pro-choicers in charge of such lectures, I had become an undesirable heretic.

But through the years, I have also opposed those pro-lifers who bully pro-abortionists as they attempt to arrange for an abortion. Where I live in New York City, there is now a rising storm of contention over a decision on this issue headlined in the October 20 New York Post:

Christine Quinn, the powerful City Council speaker -- and a leading candidate to succeed Mayor Bloomberg -- explains in the story why the Council is "recruiting volunteers to accompany women facing persistent protesters -- 'American Taliban,' in the view of one advocate -- when they seek reproductive services." ("Quinn: We'll escort Abortion Patients," David Seifman, New York Post, Oct. 20, 2012).

Of course, anyone has the First Amendment right to assemble and protest on any issue so long as, unlike the Taliban, protesters are wholly nonviolent. That is, not only not striking anyone, but also making it very hard for them to get where they want to go. I've seen women confronted by so intensely irascible a gauntlet of pro-lifers that, rather than make their appointment, they turn around and leave.

Among the dissenters to the New York City Council's recruiting volunteers to accompany women choosing an abortion is Troy Newman, president of the national pro-life organization Operation Rescue, who was shocked to learn that the government was getting involved in this abortion debate on city streets:

Reported the Post's David Seifman: "...Newman insisted his members are acting within their constitutional rights and said it should be the police that enforce the law, not the council."

Not only would police intervention still involve the government, to say the least, there is another conflict before the City Council -- a bitter debate on establishing an inspector general over the police department, which commissioner Ray Kelly has directed as if he has lost his copy of the Constitution and has not been trying to find it.

For example, in addition to Kelly encouraging his intelligence division officers to banish Fourth Amendment rights of personal privacy among black and Hispanic citizens during "stop and frisk" operations, there are increasing documented reports of NYPD police brutality on the citizenry, some of which I've reported on.

So, if police replace volunteers eventually, what are the selection criteria for those police selected to accompany women on their way to abortions?

Another pressing reason for the City Council to appoint an inspector general for the NYPD to assure the First Amendment conscience rights of pro-abortion women will be enforced, is the record of Commissioner Kelly's School Safety Agents in the public schools with the power to arrest. While at the Village Voice, I wrote a number of columns on how these enforcers of the law taught many students to fear the police -- arresting and sometimes beating students for writing on their desks, failing to turn in their cellphones on coming to school because their mothers wanted, if necessary, to be in quick touch with them, and other non-felonies.

What further made this threatening presence of the school safety agents disturbing to parents was that when a student was arrested, the parents couldn't complain to the Department of Education, because the then widely praised -- and self-praised -- school chancellor Joel Klein and Mayor Bloomberg had turned over all control of this police thrust to Commissioner Kelly.

At one point, after one of my columns, a policeman I didn't know called me at the Voice to complain angrily about the "very poor training" these school safety agents were getting.

I cite this record of the NYPD, and there's much more to tell, because the possibility of later having police -- without our knowing the criteria of their selection -- accompany women to abortions should serve to further underline the need for an NYPD inspector general.

Meanwhile, as for the bullying pro-lifers (and there are also bullyers on the other side), the First Amendment protects all expressions of fundamental beliefs. Maybe those running for mayor of New York in 2013 will make this memorably clear. Once, during an abortion debate I had at Harvard, the pro-aborti

on professor roared at me: "If you're so pro-life, why don't you go out and kill abortionists?"

"Because," I said. "I'm pro-life."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles