Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 13, 2010 / 5 Mar-Cheshvan, 5771

He deserves the Liberty Medal

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | U.S. District Judge Lewis Kaplan -- the judge in the first trial in a federal civilian court of Guantanamo Bay prisoner Ahmed Khalfan Ghailani (charged with grave acts of terrorism) -- has shocked President Obama and his puppet attorney general, Eric Holder. On Oct. 6, in New York, Kaplan prohibited the vital testimony in the case of a prosecution witness, Hussein Abebe. Prosecutors had described him as "a giant witness."

His reason: CIA interrogators of prisoner Ghailani learned of Abebe through coercive interrogation (what a sterile term for torture) of Ghailani.

I believe that Kaplan's explanation for barring this witness will go down in our history as a ringing defense of our rule of law -- at a time when we are in continual danger from widespread terrorist enemies, some of them living, covertly, right here in this country.

Another American president -- not Obama -- could well have given Kaplan the Liberty Medal for reminding us and the world of why he has delayed this trial by barring this prosecution witness:

"The Court has not reached this conclusion lightly. It is acutely aware of the perilous nature of the world in which we live. But the Constitution is the rock upon which our nation rests. We must follow it not only when it is convenient, but when fear and danger beckon in a different direction."

The Justice Department has charged Ahmed Ghailani with the bombing of the American Embassy in Tanzania and a nearly simultaneous bombing of our embassy in Kenya. These double attacks in 1998, for which he allegedly bought and supplied the explosives, killed more than 200 people, including 12 Americans.

Another U.S. president -- again, certainly not Obama -- could well have awarded Judge Kaplan the Liberty Medal for reinvigorating the Constitution during its increasing time of need under President Bush, and even more so under President Obama.

Ghailani, a Tanzanian, has been imprisoned for the past six years -- the first two at a secret CIA "black site" prison, from which United States and international human rights investigators were barred -- as were our laws and international treaties we have signed. Hussein Abebe, the proposed witness against Ghailani, was, the government asserts, the man who sold Ghailani the hundreds of pounds of explosives that were used in those horrendous bombings. According to a Sept. 3 New York Times report by Ben Weiser, Ghailani went to Abebe because the latter's family had a mining business in Tanzania with access to explosives.

And Larry Neumeister of the Associated Press adds (Oct. 6), Kaplan said "Abebe was identified and located as a close and direct result of statements made by Ghailani" while learning how much (my words) agony he could withstand in a CIA "black site."

As for whether Abebe, whom Ghailani was "persuaded" to name as the source of the murderous explosives, was forced by similar methods to testify against this defendant, Judge Kaplan says "it was not clear" whether Abebe "'truly would be the volunteer the government claims' or that 'unlawfully obtained evidence did not play a role' in securing his cooperation." (New York Times, Sept. 2).

Such is the dark reputation of the CIA, which presidents Bush and Obama have encouraged to operate outside our laws and also outside "our values," which both commanders in chief pledged to protect.

Thanks to Judge Lewis Kaplan, the Constitution has been enabled to trump the CIA as well as Bush and Obama -- as summed up by Ghailani's attorney, Peter Quijano, who exalts:

"It is the Constitution that won a great victory today. This case will be tried upon lawful evidence, not torture, not coercion."

But even this defense attorney cannot free himself from political correctness. Why say "coercion," as our presidents also do, when Quijano knows full well that the nakedly accurate word is?

Torture.

It's like when most of the press routinely describes highly active terrorists as "militants," "extremists" or "insurgents." Can't they at least say "jihadists?" Politically correct and soft terms do not mask real bloodshed, death and atrocities committed by jihadists, or the torture at our "black sites."

Attorney General Holder insists the trial will go on. The government will not appeal Kaplan's ruling. It's up to the government to replace their former major witness with clearly verifiable facts.

An always-cogent legal analyst of these issues is Glenn Greenwald, who would almost have to be tortured to use politically correct language. In "Opposition to the rule of law" (salon.com, Oct. 7), he reminds us:

"This whole spectacle of bringing Ghailani to New York is quite like a show trial anyway by the Obama administration." I must add, however, except for the history made by Judge Lewis Kaplan.

Writes Greenwald: "The Obama DOJ (Department of Justice) only deigned to allow Ghailani a trial because it was convinced it was guaranteed of a conviction; had it not been so convinced, they would have simply sent him to a military commission or held him without charges of any kind, as they're doing to multiple other detainees against whom they don't believe they can win in a real court."

Now dig this about "American values." Did you know, as Greenwald accurately writes, that "the administration has already asserted what it calls 'post-acquittal detention power': namely, the power to continue imprisoning anyone as an 'enemy combatant' under the law of war even if they charge that person with crimes and lose in court"?

If Ghailani is acquitted and kept behind bars, so much for our "rule of law."

Next week: Why it is constitutionally necessary to bring charged terrorists to trial in our civilian courts -- as Judge Kaplan has demonstrated that his American values are the essence of why we are Americans. I'd very much like to know what a possible future Republican president as of 2012 will have to say about his or her faithfulness to our rule of law by contrast with the con games of Guantanamo Bay-style military commissions and military tribunes. And let's hear from the tea partiers on what Judge Kaplan has done for America.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles