Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 3, 2012/ 18 Tishrei, 5773

Election Day: I'll not vote for pro-death president

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | On the one hand, I cannot vote to re-elect President Barack Obama, who more than any other president in our history continuously exceeds the constitutional limitations of the executive branch. For example -- one of many I've documented -- Obama, without going to a judge, regularly selects those who are to be assassinated from a "kill list"; this includes American citizens suspected of being associated with terrorists.

But I have other reasons for not possibly voting for him. One is that no previous president has been so radically pro-abortion as Obama, who, when he was in the Illinois Senate, voted three times against the Born-Alive Infant Protection Act. The bill would have ensured that if a live baby fully emerged before an abortion was successfully completed, he or she was to be saved.

To let this legislation die would be an act of infanticide, but it did not pass while Obama was in the Illinois Senate.

However, according to the Chicago Tribune, "In 2005, when additional language was added to a 'born alive' bill in Illinois that explicitly spelled out that it would not impact abortion rights in any way, the law passed easily" ("Executive summary: What you need to know about the 'born alive' issue," Eric Zorn, blogs.chicagotribune.com, Aug. 22, 2008).

Years ago, as I reported in an article for the Human Life Review on the highly disproportionate number of abortions on blacks ("President Obama and 'Black Genocide,'" Winter/Spring 2009), I had interviewed a registered nurse who had worked in the Labor and Delivery Department of Christ Hospital in Oak Lawn, Ill., and had participated unwillingly in one of these botched abortions.

I honor Jill Stanek for what she revealed.

Some of what she told me of the dispositions of these abandoned babies appeared in a September 2000 House Judiciary Committee report. One of the babies persisting in being alive was "left to die on the counter of the Soiled Utility Room wrapped in a disposable towel. The baby was accidentally thrown in the garbage, and when they were later going through the trash to find the baby, the baby fell out of the towel and on to the floor."

Another nurse "happened to walk into a Soiled Utility Room and saw, lying on the metal counter, a fetus, naked, exposed and breathing, moving its arms and legs."

Nonetheless, then-state Sen. Obama, who dissented against the Born-Alive Infant Protection Act, had opposed what he called the view that "you have to keep alive even a previable child."

But the fetus on the metal counter had become one of us, its fate like that of another baby I've written about previously, who "was disposed of as a horrified nurse who was not necessarily pro-life followed the doctors' orders to put the baby in a pail or otherwise get rid of the child" (my column, "Infanticide Candidate for President," April 24, 2008.)

Yet state Sen. Obama insisted that the Born-Alive Infant Protection Act interfered with a woman's reproductive rights. But wanted or not, the child had been born, and preventing him or her from continuing to live was infanticide!

I should point out that although I am obviously a pro-lifer (not for religious reasons, but because I'm an atheist who can read biology), I have voted for pro-choicers with whom I have otherwise agreed on the First and Fourth Amendments and other constitutional rights, among them the late Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan of New York. He was pro-abortion, except for partial-birth abortion, which he described as "only minutes away from infanticide."

Obama, however, has firmly opposed any action taken against partial-birth abortion, including action taken by the Supreme Court.

With regard to the other pressing reason I cannot vote for this incumbent president: I was intrigued to find out that his communications advisers "created an interactive Web forum for receiving and evaluating citizen petitions" to the White House, as the June 1 Daily Caller reported.

I expect Obama will particularly ignore one of these petitions, which the website highlighted. The request focused on an acute life-or-death issue that he has hardly had to cope with during his fateful presidential campaign:

"'Considering that the government already has a "Do Not Call" list and a "No Fly" list, we hereby request that the White House create a "Do Not Kill" list in which American citizens can sign up to avoid being put on the president's "kill list" and therefore avoid being executed without indictment, judge, jury, trial or due process of law'" ("White House website petition to Obama: Please create 'Do Not Kill' list," David Martosko, The Daily Caller, June 1).

Somehow I do not believe our commander in chief's sleep was troubled by this petition. But ever-increasing, concerted demands from black pro-life citizens, including preachers, may well be irritating Obama and, if he is indeed re-elected, could conceivably lead to human rights protests outside the White House.

As a prelude to next week's column on this passionately faithful pro-abortion president, I am revisiting a fervent petition that was made to Obama three days after he was inaugurated. In my article for the Human Life Review, I wrote about Luke Robinson, a black pastor confronting the first black president, who said at the 2009 March for Life in Washington, D.C.:

"Please, Mr. President, be that agent of change that can commute the sentence of over 1,400 African-American children and over 3,000 children from other ethnic groups sentenced to die every day in this country by abortion. ... At the conclusion of your term in office, may it never be said that you presided over the largest slaughter of innocent children in the history of the country."

Yet Obama increasingly supports and encourages the abortion-created corpses of innocent black children.

In my Human Life Review column I quoted LifeSiteNews.com, which reported that, in February 2009, the head of Canada's Campaign Life Coalition told our new "president of change" that "abortion is the number one killer of African-Americans in the U.S."

If Obama is re-elected, will that horrendous distinction persist?

You know the answer.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles