Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 3, 2008 / 3 Elul 5768

Will Biden be more than a hit man?

By Nat Hentoff


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | When Joe Biden was campaigning to be the Democratic presidential candidate, he was the only one in either party who forcefully and consistently wielded the Constitution like a sword: opposing Bush's warrantless wiretapping as an "unconstitutional expansion of presidential powers" (though Barack Obama voted for the FISA amendments, agreeing with Bush). And Biden also introduced the National Security with Justice Act of 2007 that would have ended some of Bush's more egregious lawlessness.


That Biden bill included essential restorations of our rule of law, including international treaties we've signed. He would: "Prohibit (CIA) 'Extraordinary Renditions' (kidnapping suspects to be tortured in other countries close); Close Black Sites & Extra-Judicial Prisons; Prohibit the Torture or Mistreatment of Detainees in U.S. Custody."


Biden emphasized that these abuses (to use a euphemism) of prisoners were a boon to jihadist recruiters, adding that "by redefining torture" we "have squandered the support of the world and the opportunity to lead it." At home, Biden added, Bush's disregard for the separation of powers "has undermined the basic civil liberties of American citizens."


He said plainly, "The terrorists win when we abandon our civil liberties." While there has been much talk about rising gasoline prices and how many homes John McCain owns, in the current presidential campaign, our own diminishing civil liberties and respect around the world are of less than passing interest.


Obviously, every survey of the primary concern of the voters leads with the economy. And the Democratic congressional leaders — Harry Reid and Nancy Pelosi — have shown no pressing interest, or any interest, in restoring the Constitution or the respect of our allies' intelligence agencies, which are being undermined at home by their governments' charges that they have committed crimes through complicity in CIA kidnappings and other actions on "the dark side."


Nor have Obama or McCain shown any concern with such abuses of we Americans as Biden emphasized in an April 3, 2007, speech at Drake University Law School: "The president has also abused the authority Congress gave him under the PATRIOT Act to issue National Security Letters. FBI officials issue these letters without judicial review to demand sensitive financial, credit, phone and Internet records." No judicial warrants needed to pry into our private lives? Does anyone care?


Now that he is the Democratic vice-presidential candidate, is Biden going to continue to voice these concerns, which are vital to our constitutional well being? McCain used to emphasize that, in fighting the terrorists, it's essential to remember, by contrast with them, "who we are." But McCain, in refusing to vote to end the CIA's "special powers" and secret prisons under a Bush executive order, and then strongly supporting the extra-constitutional military commissions at Guantanamo Bay, has forgotten the crucial importance of "who we are," to ourselves and the rest of the world.


Biden, in the first speech he made after being chosen by Obama, who was standing beside him, sounded like a barking attack dog, hardly like the former presidential candidate intent on safeguarding our Constitution and our individual liberties as we battle our enemies' murderous values.


As of this writing, it appears that Obama and his strategist chose Biden principally to be the campaign's hit man against McCain. Obama's own convictions have turned out to be — let us say — flexible. Is Biden going to diminish who he is now that he is back in the national spotlight by just being a hit man?


Here is the previous essence of Biden on international human rights. Hardly mentioned by anyone on either side of this campaign was a recent revelation in an Aug. 28 report by the independent Sudan Tribune Web site. While there has been much hand-wringing over the ever-worsening atrocities in Sudan, only Biden struck real fear in Sudan's monstrous President Gen. Omar al-Bashir.


In a Senate Foreign Relations Committee hearing in April 2007, Biden said of al-Bashir's genocide: "This is incredible what is happening, and I promise you, we are all going to sit here five to 10 years from now and ask ourselves why we didn't do the things we can do. ... It's time to put force on the table and use it."


However, the man Biden is supporting for president says (New York Times, Aug. 25) that Darfur reminds him "how sinful we can be." Imagine how reassuring that bold Obama statement sounds in Darfur, where some humanitarian organizations are withdrawing because it's become so dangerous to feed the refugees in their camps assaulted by Bashir's forces.


At the Democratic convention on Aug. 27 in his passionate acceptance speech, Biden did not address any of his intentions during the primaries to repair the Constitution and bring the CIA under the rule of law. I can only hope that the other Biden, who for years, while in the Senate, has taught constitutional law at a Delaware college, will yet emerge before November.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles