Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 21, 2013/ 15 Elul, 5773

Odds now growing our constitution will pulverize Obama

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'd previously doubted that the deeply concerned bipartisan rebellion in and out of Congress against President Barack Obama's contemptuous spying on all of us would have lasting impact on him or any of his successors who believe the president is the rule of law.

I spoke too soon, according to this headline in the Aug. 17 edition of the New York Daily News: "Pols rip NSA over privacy."

The article highlighted the current revival of the personal liberty legacy of Tom Paine, Samuel Adams and the Sons of Liberty.

What ignited this political outrage was the previous day's Washington Post, which reported on newly released National Security Agency documents from former agency contractor Edward Snowden. Obama has made Snowden a citizen without a country until he returns from his haven in Russia to be ultimately judged by our Supreme Court, some of whose recent decisions have been supportive of the president in denying us our personal privacy rights.

According to the American Civil Liberties Union, "the thousands of privacy violations cited by the Post were 'jaw-dropping'" ("Pols rip NSA over privacy," Larry McShane, New York Daily News, Aug. 17).

Besides The Washington Post and the Daily News, other members of the media are also awakening to Obama's belittling of We The People. In last Saturday's Wall Street Journal, Peggy Noonan quoted me at length: "There are particular constitutional liberty rights that (Americans) have that distinguish them from all other people, and one of them is privacy ...

"The bad thing is you no longer have the one thing we're supposed to have as Americans living in a self-governing republic" ("What We Lose if We Give Up Privacy," Noonan, The Wall Street Journal, Aug. 17).

And in addition to the media, more Americans are awakening in anger -- across party lines -- at being betrayed by their un-American government.

The reporter who has been facilitating Snowden's breaking news, thus disturbing Obama's golf games, is The Guardian's Glenn Greenwald. He's made Edward Snowden into a household name. Last month, Greenwald reported on "major public opinion shifts in how NSA surveillance and privacy are viewed," further troubling our leading-from-behind commander-in-chief. He spoke of "a new comprehensive poll released ... by Pew Research (that) provides the most compelling evidence yet of how stark the shift is" ("Major opinion shifts, in the U.S. and Congress, on NSA surveillance and privacy," Greenwald, The Guardian, July 29).

Dig this, Obama. According to the poll: "A majority of Americans -- 56 percent -- say that federal courts fail to provide adequate limits on the telephone and Internet data the government is collecting as part of its anti-terrorism efforts.



"An even larger percentage (70 percent) believes that the government uses this data for purposes other than investigating terrorism" ("Few See Adequate Limits on NSA Surveillance Program," Pew Research Center for the People and the Press, July 26).

You see, we're a lot smarter than Obama thinks we are.

Pew continues: "And despite the insistence by the president and other senior officials that only 'metadata,' such as phone numbers and email addresses, is being collected, 63 percent think the government is also gathering information about the content of communications."

Citing these figures, Greenwald further explained the Pew poll's importance:

"That demonstrates a decisive rejection of the U.S. government's three primary defenses of its secret programs: there is adequate oversight; we're not listening to the content of communication; and the spying is only used to Keep You Safe."

Are you listening, Attorney General Eric Holder?

I sure hope the parents among us are telling our kids what's really going on, because the great majority of them aren't learning in school about the president's towering lies that he feeds us almost daily.

As she is busy planning for her likely 2016 presidential run, is former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton saying anything about that? And how many of the potential Republican presidential candidates are mentioning Obama's treating us with such wholesale disrespect?

Hey, New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie. What do you think of all this? You ought to listen to Sen. Rand Paul, governor. He knows the score.

Having quoted so much from Pew Research polls, I feel required to say that, as with all polls I reference, I first validate them from other research sources. I have found nearly all the Pew polls I've used are accurate.

Here are more of its findings: "Nearly half of Americans (47 percent) say their greater concern about government anti-terrorism policies is that they have gone too far in restricting the average person's civil liberties; 35 percent say their greater concern is that they have not gone far enough to adequately protect the country ...

"This is the first time a plurality has expressed greater concern about civil liberties than security since the question was first asked in 2004."

Greenwald, who called these figures the poll's "most striking finding," wrote: "For anyone who spent the post-9/11 years defending core liberties against assaults relentlessly perpetrated in the name of terrorism, polling data like that is nothing short of shocking.

"This Pew visual," Greenwald continued, "underscores what a radical shift has occurred from these recent NSA disclosures."

This conclusion leads me to request that Pew Research and other proven reliable pollsters conduct a carefully, calmly worded national poll. It would ask a wide sampling of Americans -- regardless of their politics and other self-identifying characteristics -- whether they believe there is seriously documented evidence that indicates President Barack Obama should be impeached for continually defying his oath of office.

Twice he has defied that oath, when he swore to "preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."

More than any other president, Obama has continually broken the oath of office.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast