Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Aug 8, 2012 / 20 Menachem-Av, 5772

Digitalized smart constitution vs. Obama and maybe Romney

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Former constitutional lawyer Glenn Greenwald has become a leading illuminator of how George W. Bush, Dick Cheney and Barack Obama have made "Extremism normalized" (Salon.com, July 31) in their ravages of the Constitution -- such as the vanishing of personal privacy.

"Extremist powers become normalized," explains Greenwald. "They just become such a fixture in our political culture that we are trained to take them for granted, to view the warped as normal."

But there are encouraging signs that Americans are fighting back against this extremism. Citizens are actively protecting our Constitution by making video and audio recordings of government abuses of their personal liberties as they are actually taking place.

Betrayers of the Constitution are being caught in the act. Last week, I wrote about how the New Jersey branch of the American Civil Liberties Union had made available a smartphone app that could surreptitiously record police stops of New Jerseyans.

And, in what would greatly please James Madison, the Aug. 3, 2012 New York Daily News invites us to glory in its guest op-ed: "Your camera can stop NYPD abuse." David Galarza writes about seeing "a man with a badge and a uniform" -- dig this -- "body slam a teenager on a Sunset Park subway platform."

Galarza simultaneously made a video of that stop and frisk that was in contempt of our Bill of Rights.

This modern-day Tom Paine adds pertinently: "Most of us now carry cellphone cameras in our pockets. We have access to YouTube, which is a free and easy platform for sharing video. We should use these tools daily, if necessary, to keep police officers honest."

And American.

Even more vital to helping other citizens recognize that we are part of a self-governing republic, Galarza adds:

"At Trinity Lutheran Church, where I am an active member and the Rev. Samuel Cruz is senior pastor, we strongly believe that monitoring the police contributes to public safety -- which is why Trinity's new project, La Casita Comunal de Sunset Park, is working with other groups to provide training to members of its congregation and the community."

This training enables all who enroll to become active supporters of the Bill of Rights' Fourth Amendment:

"We'll be arming members of our congregation with cameras. We urge other congregations and groups to do the same."

Wow! A new American Revolution -- in the tradition of Samuel Adams' Committees of Correspondence!

Galarza continues by declaring: "All New Yorkers, regardless of who they are or where they live, should be allowed to walk our streets without fearing the very law enforcement that is supposed to protect us."

This, of course, does not prevent a police officer in any city from stopping and searching a person whom he reasonably believes has committed or is about to commit a crime. But that does not mean an officer can just stop a person who is -- or appears to be -- black or Latino, period.

As Galarza says -- and this applies not only to New York City -- "In too many neighborhoods, getting stopped and frisked is a rite of passage."

That's why I often ask: Is this still America?

As I said last week, in view of the ACLU-NJ already providing smartphone apps that let citizens record unconstitutional police stops, the national ACLU should encourage its other affiliates around the country to also put citizens' Fourth Amendment independence into smartphone action.

As Galarza says: "The police work for us -- and they should know that we are always watching" -- at least on our streets.

However, in some states, there are laws that create obstacles to our keeping an eye on police, when officers place themselves above the law. Katie Wang, ACLU-NJ's communications director, sent me a press release about these laws:

"The popularity of cellphones with video capabilities has raised legal questions about the rights of citizens to record in public. Fortunately, the courts have sided with citizens. In May 2012, a federal appeals court struck down an Illinois law that had made it illegal for citizens to record police officers on-duty.

"Also in May 2012, the Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice released a letter affirming the constitutional rights to record the police in public. These two developments came on the heels of a landmark ruling in August 2011, which recognized the right of citizens to record police officers after a Massachusetts man in Boston Common was wrongfully arrested for filming an interaction with a police officer" ("ACLU-NJ Releases Police Accountability Smartphone App for Summer Beach Season," www.aclu-nj.org, July 3).

The subhead of Glenn Greenwald's previously quoted "Extremism Normalized" column is: "How Americans are efficiently trained to acquiesce to ideas once deemed so radical as to be unthinkable."

Radical ideas such as how police can make blacks and Latinos believe they are continually suspect of disloyalty. More Americans, however -- including judges -- are rejecting that training. Just as past Americans ultimately rejected the Alien and Sedition Acts of 1798, the "Red Scare" of the 1920s and Sen. Joe McCarthy's passionate pursuit of Un-American Activities.

Regardless of who is president and which party controls Congress in 2013, we the citizens are the only guarantee that such rising patriots as David Galarza will be able to continue to exemplify how James Madison defined Americans: "The censorial power is in the people over the government, and not in the government over the people."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles