Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 27, 2011 / 25 Tamuz, 5771

‘Our sovereign incumbent’ has shown no concern for reviving our individual liberties under the Constitution

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Nearly all the known Republican candidates for the presidency have signed a pledge to assure their voter base that they share common principles ("Signing Away the Right to Govern," The New York Times, July 19). Among the pledges:

"Cut off federal financing to Planned Parenthood ... and enacting a balanced-budget amendment to the Constitution." But omitted from any of these texts is a pledge to restore the Constitution's fundamental separation of powers that has been imperiously ignored by the Bush-Cheney and Obama administrations, thereby resulting in a shroud of secrecy (the "state secrets" closing of court cases vital to our rule of law) and so much increased surveillance by the state that it makes us a nation of suspects.

Predictably, the Democratic base for our sovereign incumbent's re-election has shown no concern for reviving our individual liberties under the Constitution.

Accordingly, there is a festering Obama war crime very unlikely to be mentioned during next year's skewering debates and character assassinations. On July 16, 2009 ("Mr. President: We Are Still Torturing?" cato.org), I reported:

"In a continuation of the Bush-Cheney practice of deliberately keeping certain groups of suspects far away from our courts and our laws, as well as hidden from monitoring by international human rights groups, the Obama administration has told a federal court that our prisoners at Bagram (Air Field in Afghanistan), many held for more than six years without charges, have no rights under our laws."

No wonder Obama, the self-ordained champion of transparency, continues to oppose charges by civil-rights and human-rights organizations that some Bagram "detainees" have been killed during "coercive interrogations" at a principal U.S. prison there inmates call "the black hole" ("Afghans 'abused at secret prison at Bagram airbase'" BBC News, April 15, 2010).

For more documentation of what was and is being done in our name at Bagram, there is the fourth article in "Bagram Week" by Andy Worthington, a truly reliable investigative reporter ("The 'Dark Side' of Bagram: An Ex-Prisoner's Account of Two Years of Abuse," www.andyworthington.co.uk, April 17, 2011). He quotes a former prisoner in the main Tor Jail ("the Black Jail"):

"There were also no facilities for handicapped or wounded people. Many prisoners had no legs or had other handicaps. It was difficult for them to go to the bathroom. There was one person in my cell who had fallen off the roof when he was arrested. His 10-year-old son was shot during the raid. He arrived in prison with two broken legs. For two months we carried him to the bathroom."

A website I visit every day is JURIST -- Legal News and Research, maintained by the University of Pittsburgh's School of Law (jurist.org). In "Bagram detainees allege torture at a secret U.S. Prison in Afghanistan: BBC" (jurist.org, April 15, 2010) I find: "U.S. President Barack Obama made a surprise visit ... to the base at Afghanistan (and its prison)."

What did he see? What were his reactions? That is classified. You want to know why? From the same "Jurist" story: "Despite the alleged witness accounts of torture ... the U.S. government continues to deny the existence of secret prisons in Afghanistan."

For four years, the ACLU, logically dismissing this denial by the Obama administration -- including its curiously named Justice Department -- has been trying hard to discover for itself what's actually happening at Bagram. In April 2009, the ACLU filed a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request for the actual records of the detention and treatment of Bagram prisoners and how they can "challenge their detention."

As of now, the reality is that these prisoners still have no real-time, real-life way of challenging their imprisonment -- let alone the conditions of their confinement -- under what used to be our laws.

Currently before the courts, there is a rather unique and spirited dispute between the ACLU and the Department of Defense. In response to the ACLU FOIA request, the DOD sent to the ACLU, by mistake, a document about the criteria by which prisoners are held at the Bagram detention center. The Obama administration, insisting that the document was properly classified, demands it be returned to the DOD.

Until this is resolved, the ACLU can't tell me what's in that especially secret document. But it does say, "It contains the criteria for labeling 'detainees' an 'enduring security threat.'" I know this means "prolonged and possibly indefinite detention." For some, a death sentence.

I've reported that President Obama is a big fan of preventative permanent detention, finding its legality somewhere in his personal constitution. However, Hina Shamsi, director of the ACLU's National Security Project, teaches Obama our rule of law:

"The U.S. military should not be detaining people indefinitely, based on secret criteria, in a war with no foreseeable end," Shamsi said. "Having seen the enduring security threat criteria, we can say without a doubt that nothing about them is properly classifiable or could pose any threat to national security if disclosed.

"The government should never have classified this document in the first place, and it is simply indefensible that it continues to seek suppression of the document now." When the FOIA request was made in 2009, she adds, there were about 600 held at Bagram. "That number has now nearly tripled, and Bagram detainees still do not have access to a court or independent and impartial tribunal to determine the legality of their detention."

I'll keep you informed on how this battle turns out. Does any presidential aspirant of either party have anything to say? And please let me know if you hear any reference to Bagram torture during the 2012 presidential debates.

Oh, and let's not forget that, despite Obama's promise to close Guantanamo Bay, it's still open. Now he has two Guantanamo's.

How many have read the Constitution lately?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles