Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 25, 2012/ 6 Menachem-Av, 5772

Can First Amendment survive imperious presidents?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In my protests against George W. Bush's and Barack Obama's administrations' eroding of our constitutional identities as free Americans, I try to avoid the term "police state." Some of us do actively continue to exercise our ultimate First Amendment weapon against imperious administrations that refuse to be limited by the separation of powers.

For example, Michael Opitz, who is running against Rep. Phil Gingrey in the July 31 Republican primary in Georgia's 11th congressional district, has charged the incumbent with voting for the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). Under the NDAA, Opitz told The Marietta Daily Journal, the president alone can decide who is a terrorist, allowing indefinite military detention of American citizens ("Opitz objects to Gingrey's vote for Defense Authorization Act," July 1).

"And," said Opitz, "this applies to American citizens, so you give up habeas corpus. And that's a suspension of our individual rights."

How many campaigns this year have made habeas corpus an issue? Or the president's sole authority to assassinate an American citizen alleged to be associated with terrorism -- as Obama has done?

But opposition goes on.

However, in joining other constitutionalists who encourage protestors to have more of a "street presence" against the Bush-Obama legacy, I have underestimated how presidents and aspirants to that office can create powerfully imposing obstacles to organized, visible displays of our First Amendment freedom of association to assemble and petition the government.

John Whitehead, president of the Constitution-defending Rutherford Institute, foresees what to look for at this summer's Republican and Democratic National Conventions in Tampa, Fla., and Charlotte, N.C., and what is already happening around the country:

"Government agencies in conjunction with the militarized police are already preparing to head off any protests, refusing to issue permits, cordoning off city blocks, creating 'free speech' zones and passing a litany of laws banning everything from protestors wearing masks to carrying string. And the few protestors who manage to take to the streets will be faced with an array of non-lethal weapons meant to incapacitate them.

"Originally designed to help restrain violent individuals, so-called 'non-lethal' weapons such as tasers, sound cannons and tear gas were first introduced with a government guarantee of safety for the citizens. However, the 'non-lethal' label seems to have caused police to feel justified in using these dangerous weapons much more often and with less restraint -- with some even causing death."

What follows from Whitehead on taser use has a touch -- not an equivalency, just a chilling touch -- of Iran or Zimbabwe:

"For instance, a 9-year-old Arizona run-away was tasered as she sat in the back seat of a police car with her hands cuffed behind her back. In Texas, a 72-year-old great-grandmother was tasered after refusing to sign a speeding ticket."

Meanwhile, continuous advances in crowd-menacing digital technology are, says Whitehead -- a ceaseless, careful researcher in these fearful controls that George Orwell could not have possibly imagined -- "providing police with ever-greater weapons of compliance.

"For example, Intelligent Optics Systems, Inc. has developed a hand-held, flashlight-like device that uses light emitting diodes 'to emit super-bright pulses of light at rapidly changing wavelengths, causing disorientation, nausea and even vomiting in whomever it's pointed at.' Raytheon has developed a 'pain ray' which shoots an electromagnetic beam composed of high frequency radio waves, causing a burning sensation on the target's skin.

"In December 2011, the (London) Telegraph reported that police in the U.K. were planning on testing a shoulder-mounted laser that can temporarily blind protestors and rioters" ("The New American Order: Using Weapons of Compliance to Stamp Out Protest," rutherford.org, May 21).

We don't know which, if any, of these First Amendment traumatizers will be used at the Democratic and Republican National Conventions this year but, as Whitehead notes, they have been used -- or are in the planning stages -- against protesters around the nation.

During the Vietnam War, when some of our forces were "destroying villages in order to save them," I, with trepidation, joined two groups here that were committing civil disobedience in protest. Only old-time physical force was used against us then. I, managing not to look into the eyes of the cops, wasn't among those hauled away.

Now, at 87, with arthritis limiting my gait in one foot, I will only be attending the conventions on television, but more hardy octogenarians may be among those in the streets. And surely other protestors of all ages will be there as well.

"So where does this leave us?" asks Whitehead. "Does the way protestors are treated in Chicago, Charlotte or Tampa really have any bearing on how law-abiding citizens are treated in small-town America? Of course it does. The militarization of the police, the use of sophisticated weaponry against Americans and the government's increasing tendency to clamp down on dissent have colored our very understanding of freedom, justice and democracy."

However, as he knows, not all Americans have lost their understanding, but the America that our grandchildren and their own children will live in depends on how we vote, how we demonstrate in the streets and how urgently we get civics classes back in our schools.

The First Amendment and I will have more about that in future columns. I defy any president and his or her minions to stop me.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles