Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 18, 2012/ 28 Tamuz, 5772

2012 elections: Bill of Rights missing

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | If President Barack Obama is re-elected, more of us will continue to lose our constitutional rights to the presumption of innocence, basic to due process, along with other hard-won definitions of being American.

So far, Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney has omitted any reference to how the Obama administration has gone beyond George W. Bush and Dick Cheney in ignoring the Constitution's separation of powers -- and, thus, our separation from our history.

Deeply aware of the importance of this election for the future of our nation, John Hanrahan -- former executive director of the Fund for Investigative Journalism and a past reporter for The Washington Post -- agrees with the assessment of my congressman, Rep. Jerrold Nadler, D-N.Y., and quotes from a speech the congressman gave on the floor of the House last year:

"In the last 10 years, we have begun to let go of our freedoms, bit by bit, with each new executive order, court decision and, yes, act of Congress. We have begun giving away our rights to privacy, our right to our day in court when the government harms us, and, with this legislation (the National Defense Authorization Act), we are continuing down the path of destroying the right to be free from imprisonment without due process of law."

In a post titled "The press needs to expose the siege of democracy, not abet it" (niemanwatchdog.org, July 6), Hanrahan is speaking for the most influential organization among journalists, the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard, whose Nieman Fellows -- having been awarded a year's residence -- have won in their careers 99 Pulitzer Prizes.

Hanrahan is currently on special assignment for NiemanWatchdog.org -- a separate program there that is intended to encourage reporters to be more aggressive in questioning the powerful.

In his column, Hanrahan points out what's vitally missing from too many sources' coverage of the 2012 presidential election by citing this reminder:

"As for the broadcast media, where is the network documentary about this rollback of civil liberties, a la the Edward R. Murrow expose of Senator Joseph McCarthy's assault on democracy back in the 1950s?"

I experienced the chilling effect of Joe McCarthy's "Red Scare" dragnet hunt for suspected communists. So dramatic were his Senate hearings that some individual states instituted their own McCarthy-like unAmerican Activities committees. So many Americans -- against whom there was no actual evidence of communism -- were losing their jobs, that people I knew buying books or records that could have caught Sen. McCarthy's attention insisted their purchases be wrapped so carefully as to hide their titles and authors.

But then came CBS' Edward R. Murrow and his equally fearless producer, Fred Friendly, who exposed Sen. McCarthy on "See it Now," where the senator was chief spokesman for himself. The program's revelation of how contemptuous McCarthy was of basic American values of fairness and justice had a lot to do with the U.S. Senate censuring McCarthy, following which he began to fade away.

Also underlining this kind of patriotic courage, which is not to be found now among most members of Congress who fear confronting Obama's rampant unAmericanism, Hanrahan recalls the Senate hearings by Sen. Frank Church, D-Idaho, that exposed the databasing of innocent Americans by the National Security Agency. Today, these shocking, warrantless invasions into all sorts of Americans' communications target those alleged to be "associated" with terrorists.

And dig this scary insight by Hanrahan into how we will still be targeted by ever more advanced surveillance technology under Obama or Mitt Romney:

"In a further sign of our nation's downhill trajectory, most of what Church and other civil libertarians of the time denounced as dangers to our democracy are today praised or taken for granted by our national leaders and many mainstream media commentators as the normal state of affairs, necessary to protect against every person everywhere who might harbor an intent to do the United States and its people wrong."

How long can we survive as even minimally free Americans unless we teach the next president of whichever party that, ultimately, this elected leader is responsible to us? We the People are not responsible to him.

Imagine Washington, Jefferson and Madison becoming aware of the current president of this constitutional republic going through a "kill list" to decide, on his own, which American citizen is to be assassinated! That's already happening as, to its great credit, has been revealed by The New York Times.

Hanrahan says we need "the kind of persistent and disruptive street agitation that is vital to any campaign to restore the Bill of Rights."

That's what Thomas Jefferson insisted not long after the American Revolution, when he said we are the basic guarantor of our liberties. But, he added, that requires an informed, organized people. Who is ready to start our march back to the 1787 Constitution and the 1791 Bill of Rights? How soon can we ring the Liberty Bell again?

If we don't restore the Bill of Rights, who will we be then?

There are much faster ways now to send the Committees of Correspondence around this land. And if force is used against us, that's what we faced before. And that's how we became free the first time.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2006, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles